Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This is the best yeast doughnut that I've ever made!! Every time I make them and bring them some place people think I stopped and bought them at a doughnut shop. They cant believe that I made them myself. I follow the recipe exactly, fry at 325 degrees. I have made the glazed doughnuts, but I've also made them and filled them with jelly and powdered sugar on top, homemade custard cream filled with chocolate glaze on top, and homemade vanilla frosting filled with chocolate glaze and sprinkles on top. They are always a HUGE hit!!! The best advice to give anyone trying this for the first time is to make sure that your water and milk are at the correct temperatures so as not to kill your yeast...this is one of the only places you could go wrong where they wouldn't come out. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Italianmamaof4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Taylors, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by joderita
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
These doughnuts were really good, and the glaze was pretty spot on for Krispy Kremes, but the density of the actual doughnuts was a little too thick to be a perfect match. I didn't have any of the problems others noted, such as "not sweet enough" or "too yeasty". These doughnuts turned out perfectly as doughnuts in general, and with a little tweaking, could definitely be really close to Krispy Kremes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joderita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Love it!!! I baked instead of frying in 400°F oven for about 5 o 6 minutes, until some color appear, and was so delicious!! And the glaze is spectacular!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Very easy to make in the bread machine! Very tasty donuts! I will be making these again! WAY better than Tim Hortons or store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
This recipe was excellent, everyone loved them. I made a half recipe of dough and had enough for 9 large doughnuts and a dozen or so holes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
We made two batches but we made one gluten-free and they did not come good. they did not rise or fry good. The regular ones were great but we left them too long rising and they caved in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Ok..so the recipe asks for 2 envelopes of yeast but the video asks for one. Which one is right? Nevertheless, I used one envelope and the dough rose well. I used my bread machine and made things so much easier. The doughnuts puffed up nicely during frying, but still came out dense. Made 25. Need to be eaten immediately... Not good cold. Definitely not KK or Dunkin, but still good. My icing turned out bumpy so need to work on it. Overall, good recipe, and I had fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
good recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
For the glaze you can add 1/4 cup cocoa for chocolate glaze, or 1 tsp. maple flavoring for maple glaze donuts. Love this recipe it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mischiefmind
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Turned out to be very soft and fluffy. I did not glaze them but dusted them with sugar and cinnamon. I also tried doing the Oreo topping by first applying the the Oreo cream and then a layer of the crushed biscuit. The small middle portion turned out to be excellent little balls once again dusted with sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mischiefmind

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 938) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States