Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
The best doughnut recipe ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
These doughnuts were fantastic! (almost too good, HAD to send home with family members before we ate them all!) I used my bread machine, and that made it so easy. I mixed the yeast and water, and warmed the milk to lukewarm with the shortening before adding to the bread machine. I then added the eggs (room temperature), sugar, salt and flour. I hit the dough setting, worked the flour in with a spatula and then let the machine finish doing the work! My daughter-in-law said I must open a bakery!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I love this recipe but it's usually too many doughnuts for my family to eat as they need to be eaten as soon as possible once they are cooked because they are fried and raised so they are not nearly as good the next day.I usually halve the recipe,warm my milk in a small sauce pan with the shortening in as well just until the shortening begins to melt then I turn off the stove and mix the yeast with some warm h2o (110*-115*) a tsp. or so of white sugar in a small mixing glass until it is foamy.I put the rest of the sugar and the salt into my 1970 something Sunbeam stand mixer bowl and whisk them together.I then add the milk and shortening(around 110*) and yeast mixture to the bowl and mix them together,then some flour and follow the rest of the recipe instructions.This recipe was my first successful attempt at raised doughnuts and it never lets me down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
These are the best donuts I've had in my entire life, with no exceptions. Admittedly, I don't have donuts often, but I have had a few from some very notable chains, and they weren't nearly as good as these. They are time-consuming, but not hard, and worth every minute. (My KitchenAid mixer made the kneading effortless.) I won't ever need another glazed donut recipe. Mine made nearly four dozen, instead of 18, so I may have rolled mine out a bit thin. They looked perfectly normal after frying, though, so I'm not sure what to attribute it to. (I'm not complaining!) Accordingly, I had to make two batches of the glaze to frost all of my donuts. I also had to add about another 1/4 cup of flour to keep the dough from sticking to the bowl, but I know from my bread-baking experience that weather sometimes affects the amount of flour needed from one time to the next, at least where I live.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twin Rocks, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Adrienne
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I'll break this review down to where I had trouble. 1) The Yeast: The recipe calls for 2 envelopes of yeast while the video only calls for 1. Well I used 2 and the donuts rose beautifully! I used 2 envelopes from Fleischmann's. When it came to activating the yeast, I simply boiled some water, let it reduce down to between 105-115 then poured it into the bowl of my Kitchenaid Stand Mixer with a dough hook. I then poured the yeast (both packets) on top of the water. The directions say to let the yeast "rise until foamy" but to be honest, you need to stir the yeast. So, I got some more warm water, poured it down the sides while mixing the yeast. I let it sit for about 5-10 minutes and it foamed quite well. 2) Cutting the dough: I can't stress this enough and I suggest paying close attention to this part. Before you are ready to cut the donuts, take a baking sheet (or whatever you plan on putting the cut pieces on) and line it with wax paper. Then, heavily spray the wax paper with non-stick spray! HEAVILY! I didn't heavily spray and the donuts stuck just a bit. Spray the sucker down like there's no tomorrow! 3) Rising: Allow them to rise UNTIL THEY ARE THE SIZE YOU WANT THEM TO BE! I let my first batch rise for about an hour and began frying. The frying took about 30 minutes, then I took out my second batch. To my surprise, my second batch was 4 times larger than the first! 4) Frying: I constantly turned the dough when frying so they won't get overcooked on 1 side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
The donut itself was good but the glaze was not good. EDIT: I made this again and it came out perfect. Even the glaze. For the glaze to come out right u MUST do it on the stove. I tried it in the microwave the first time and came out gritty. Tried it on the stove and it came out perfect. This is the only doughnut recipe I will ever use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by charlie.boo
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Excelent recipe!!! Fluffy dough and creamy glaze... just loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I tried this recipe and everybody simply loved the doughnuts! They were SO soft!! Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Not light and fluffy enough. I don't think I made a mistake because mine looked like a lot of the photos that I see with this recipe. The doughnuts were nowhere near as good as any store-bought doughnut that I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
It was delicious! Beyond our wildest dreams! Our first time making donuts and not likely to be our last. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 955) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States