Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
These donuts were perfect. I thought I killed the yeast (my milk was probably too cold still), but they still rose pretty well and fluffed up beautifully in the frier. They were light, fluffy, crispy on the outside, and the glaze was perfect. This will be my new go-to doughnut recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This was my first try at making donuts and they were indeed crispy and creamy. I followed the recipe exactly, using tips from the helpful reviews: frothy yeast in lukewarm water, didn't add too much more flour in the kneading, let the donuts rise on a greased sheet of wax paper and slid them off the paper into the hot oil. I'll make these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Loved this recipe.. The only slight modification I did was that I used one small packet of bread improver, and i took 2 tablespoons out of the 1/2 cup of sugar to help activate the yeast at the beginning (dissolved the sugar in 1/4 cup of water and 1 cup milk lukewarm, then sprinkled the yeast and left the mixture till it foamed up) other than this used the exact recipe (after yeast foamed up i added all remaining ingredients, the rest of the milk and sugar). It's also worth noting that I used my bread machine on the dough cycle to make the dough rise. Didn't need to knead, the machine took care of that. Great recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I have made these several times. This is a fantastic recipe. I do cut the glaze in half. Just didn't seem to need as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by quiggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delta, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
really great its not easy to find a good doughnuts recipie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Tried this this morning and was so very good! Almost followed the recipe exactly. Am freezing some for another morning, hopefully it works out ok. I will definitely use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
yes i made them tonite and they were great. i will make them again forsure thank you so much Dave
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by j
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Right out of the fryer, these were like heaven. Amazing. But, cold, a few hours later, they were still good (just not AS delightful). They're definitely better than store-bought. I don't know if they are Krispy Kreme or not -- I am going to try one of those knock-off recipes. I was actually looking for a recipe to emulate the kind of donuts made by Korean shop owners that are so numerous in the Dallas/Fort Worth area. Their donuts are AMAZING. I was hoping to find something VERY light and fluffy and less spongey. I did have to add flour to this because it was so sticky. I also had to let them rise for a very long time to double, so it ended up taking me more like 4-6 hours to go from start to finish. Also, they are not sweet alone because there is not much sugar in them -- the icing or sugar coating provides the sweetness, which is fine to me. This made about twenty 3.5" donuts and lots more donut holes for me. I tried a larger cutter and the big donuts were not as cute as the 3" cutters. Also, the icing should be tripled if you want to glaze all of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brookssm
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I read the bad reviews and the only thing i can think of is that they added too much flour and over kneaded the dough. I stuck to the dough recipe and they came out amazing! My family is singing my praises. i doubled the glaze recipe and used 2 tsp orange extract and one tsp vanilla extract. Def will use this recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brookssm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Great recipe! Made these this morning for a special Christmas Eve "breakfast". It did take a long time, but was worth it! My boys loved them. I followed the recipe (halved it, based on some of the feedback - using just one pack of yeast - and ended up with 17-18 biscuit-sized donuts). I didn't have a donut cutter, so just used a buscuit cutter. The donuts fluffed up beautifully as they fried. Added red sugar sprinkles to make them festive. My son said they were just as good - if not better than KK and DD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 911) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States