Creme Brulee French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I've made this 3 times and everyone who tries it absolutely loves it! I use the hawaiian sweet rolls and I use milk instead of half and half to cut the calories a bit and it still tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This made a fabulous french toast for our family on Christmas morning. However, my son loves to cook and we made a few revisions that worked wonderfully. We did not bake it like a casserole -but only dipped our eggs and then pan-fried the toast. We went a little light on the sugar (1/2 cup), omitted the corn syrup (did not have any), and substituted orange flavoring for the orange liqueur. We used gluten free bread for those family members that are GF and then used regular bread for everyone else. The thing that made it special was my son also added about a tablespoon of pumpkin pie seasoning. It was awesome. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This is one of my family's favorite breakfast recipies. It seems that I never make it the same way twice. There are a few things that I do consistently however... I make the Carmel sauce on the bottom per the recipe. I cut up the French bread into chunks. The egg mixture I have fun with. Today I used the 5 eggs, added a cup of milk plus a half a cup of eggnog because I had it in the house. I added triple sec, again because I had it. I added vanilla a couple shakes of cinnamon and beat well with my whisk and poured over the bread making sure all was saturated well. Baked at 350 for 35 minutes. Cut into squares and "flip" it over when serving so the Carmel is on top.... Yum!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by visum4us

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I've made this several times using Portuguese sweet bread. The only change I make is not using the corn syrup. It turns out perfect as written. When serving, I invert the slices so the caramel is on top as others suggested. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Very good, worth the effort. I used Texas "toast" bread but next time I will definitely use thick sliced French (or Italian) bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjclements

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I made this for a brunch that I hosted, and there was a fight over who would get to have the last piece! :) Excellent, easy, and a crowd-pleaser. As suggested, I decreased from 5 eggs to 4 and it was plenty enough. I was unable to find a French loaf, so I went with an Italian loaf with superb results. I was able to get 8 thick slices from my loaf and they fit in the dish just fine. If you do not have Grand Marnier or do not wish to use alcohol, you can substitute with orange extract (I did!) and it was perfect. Instead of corn syrup, I used pure maple syrup. So easy to just prepare in advance (and it is quick!) and it's ready for the oven in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This had a very good flovor but was really runny. I may use less cream next time or throw in another egg. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBYLN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I love this recipe and so does everyone I make it for. I always use the "Bread Machine Challah I" recipe when I make it. I use more bread and cut it in cubes instead of slices. Super indulgent but great for special occasions. A little butter brushed over the top for the last 10 minutes of baking sets it over the top. :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by treatdream

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I loved this recipe and only made a few minor changes. I halved the recipe, used two eggs (rather than 2 1/2), swapped Triple Sec for the Grand Marnier, and used as many slices of bread as would fit in an 8x8 square pan (I think it was 5), with the crusts left on. I'm normally indifferent to sweet breakfast foods, but this was so rich and delicious, it was almost like eating dessert for breakfast. Definitely on the "make again" list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melabelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Zurich, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 600) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

French Toast I

You can use virtually any kind of bread to make this easy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States