Creme Brulee French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I would give it 50 stars if I could. I used the Texas toast from Safeway (crust left on) & the 3/4 c brown sugar, 1 Tbsp corn syrup suggestion & it was perfection. I could only fit 6 pieces of Texas Toast in the 13x9 pan. I also sprayed the pan with non stick spray before adding the brown sugar mixture & everything released well from the pan & was beautiful & caramelly (is that a word?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha Bodi Wolfe

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Delicious...added some fresh nutmeg on top and served with powder sugar on the top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mike Mellor
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Turned out great. I used 4 eggs instead of 5 like many of the reviews suggested. I didn't soak the bread but I did flip the bread half way through cooking. I also put the oven on broil for a few minutes after around 40 minutes and that worked out great. My wife thought it was too sweet but I reminded her that it was a creme brulee recipe and I'd try a different recipe if I wanted to cut back on the sugar. Overall it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Mellor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
I just made this dish for my family, and it was a huge hit! I lieu of French bread, I used a thick baguette. I also baked it right away, only letting it soak in the custard for about 20 minutes. My only critique is that you don't need all of the custard- next time I'll use 4 eggs and 1/4 cup less of the cream. Other than that, it came out delicious! It's now in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
I always have to make 2 batches at a time because it disappears so quickly. This is the most requested recipe for work potlucks. So easy to make. I usually use an electric knife to remove the entire crust from a loaf of French bread. Then I slice the bread into the required 1-inch thick-slices. The electric knife makes everything much easier. Because the bread needs to soak overnight, I just pop it in the oven while I'm getting ready for work and it's still warm when I serve it to co-workers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Delicious! Will make again & again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
AWESOME recipe. I grated some orange peel also and let it sit over night. It made the orange flavor just explode. VERY filling. My Hubby said," This is SO GOOD! I should have eaten just one." I told him," You did eat just one."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
This does actually taste like crème brulee, just a little more eggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Very good, cook for 40 mins, and then put oven to 425 and cook till toast Browns. I also used maple syrup instead of corn syrup, and only 4 eggs. Also use 3/4 cup of brown sugar instead of 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Call me Sherlock. I just made this for my family, and contrary to most reviews, mine turned out dry on the top. It didn't totally ruin the dish though, after baking, I flipped each piece over in the pan so the tops were moist--and the flavor was wonderful. The important thing is that it made me realize why there were so many varying degrees of success with this recipe: It's not that there are too many eggs or too much milk or anything faulty with the recipe. It's the bread. I'm reading that some have used pre-sliced sourdough--I know the bread, and it's MAYBE 1/2" thick. The bread/liquid ratio is off, leaving a soggy, soupy mess. Others are using roughly 1 to 1-1/4" slices with great success. Me? I LOVE big, fat slices of French bread for my French toast, so I cut my slices at least 2" thick, making the bread to liquid ratio off again, only in the opposite direction. Mine was dry. To make matters worse, I had company for the weekend and wanted to make sure that I had enough French toast to serve for breakfast, so I squished and squeezed and pushed and pinched every slice of an entire loaf of bread into my 9"x13"--until I thought it was going to spring up and hit me in the face. Rookie move! I should have known better, but after enjoying the beautiful flavor of the dish, I know now that I can have my 2" giant slices, I just need to adjust the liquids to accommodate that preference. I may have to make it 2 mo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 652) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States