Creme Brulee French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Was a hit in our house. I made for Christmas Morning and nothing was left. Made it exactly as specified - this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by breezyptgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This was delicious! I made this for Christmas morning brunch along with the Breakfast Pizza recipe from this site and everyone loved this. I did follow a few of the suggestions and cut the brown sugar down to 3/4 cup. Also, since I didn't have any orange liquer on hand I used about 1/2 tsp. of orange flavoring. This added just a hind of orange flavor. Overall a very easy recipe that everyone enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I have tried this recipe twice and while the second time was better than the first, this is not a "simple" recipe for a novice cook. I was served this for breakfast by a chef acquaintance and loved it but I am apparently still missing something. The first time I made it, the bread was just downright soggy and I realized that I didn't let the bread get stale enough. This time, I brought french bread and gave it a couple of days to get stale. Took the suggestions regarding the brown sugar, increasing the orange liquer and using only 4 eggs. Otherwise, I followed the directions perfectly. I really thought I hit a homerun this time. I filled the pan with bread and it looked like the bread had soaked up the mixture pretty well. By the end of the cooking process, the bread was not the least bit soggy (I thought) and I was confident that I had found the holy grail of creme brulee french toast - that is until I flipped it over for browning. The bottom was a little wet but didn't seem overly so and yet, it didn't crisp up under the broiler as others had mentioned so while everything looked like it was going well, the end result was that this still seemed eggier and a little soggier than I remember. The flavor with the extra orange was good but not enough that I'll try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
We loved it. It was great for Christmas brunch. I didn't take the crusts off and it was just fine. The casserole does get hard on the bottom pretty quickly, so I kept it on the warm stove and served from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I followed the directions to a tee. It was wonderful! Almost more dessert than breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
A huge hit for Christmas morning, and it was super easy to prepare the night before. I gave it 4 stars only because of the alterations I made based on the other reviews. I used 3/4 cup of brown sugar and maple syrup instead of corn syrup. I used 4 eggs and 8 slices of French bread and kept the crusts on. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amylovesu2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
My family loves this recipe. They said no more plain French toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Delicious !!! I make this every Christmas Eve and it's perfect for popping in the oven on Christmas morning... No muss no fuss :). I also cut up strawberries and blueberries to add to top after baking ... sheer perfection ! We also sprinkle on powdered sugar ... My kids can't wait , it has become a family tradition each year
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This recipe is fantastic. Even if you follow or don't follow the recipe it's a huge hit for my family and I've been making this for Christmas Breakfast for the last few years. I dare not stray from tradition ;) I only came back for the ingredients for shopping today. Instead of the french bread though I use Texas Toast and I have left the crusts on and have taken it off. My family prefers I leave the crusts on merely because of the fact that that means there's more of it! The one thing that I do to the toast is let it sit out and become a little stale from the air or I toast it in the toaster for a little bit. I think this helps with the sogginess that some people complain about. But I do that for any french toast recipe. One time I forgot to buy the half and half, so I just used milk and sour cream and blended them and it worked out fine. The crucial part I don't change is the corn syrup and brown sugar. That makes the perfect crunchy crust. I do love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Amazing, I used cinnamon swirl bread sliced 1/2 inch thick and don't use any Grand Marnier. I spread the brown sugar/ butter mixture over the bottom of my pan added a layer of cinnamon bread poured 3/4 of the egg mixture over the bread, layered another layer of bread & poured the remaining egg mixture over the bread and followed the rest of the recipe as suggested. Was so delish one of the woman who enjoyed it laughing told me it was better than sex!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 597) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

French Toast I

You can use virtually any kind of bread to make this easy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States