Creme Brulee French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This was delicious, but very sweet. Be sure to pair it with some bacon or sausage. Also, better fresh and warm. Not quite as good as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Excellent! Rave reviews from all of my family, not a bit left. Only change i madewas not to remove the crust, i dont think it would have made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This recipe was OK. I followed other reviewers and decreased the brown sugar to 3/4 cup and it was still too sweet. Aside from that it wasn't bad. I used standard wheat bread including the heals. I would NOT recommend using heals and now know why the recipe instructed to cut the crusts off; they form this tough, chewy layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I followed the recipe as written and was severely disappointed. It was more the consistency of a bead pudding than any kind of french toast and the flavor wasn't even all that good, not at all creme brulee like. I even tried to brown these in a frying pan after pulling them out of the oven and seeing how soggy they were, it didn't help. My husband and I both had a half of a slice and threw the rest away. Glad I decided to try it myself before making it for company. I definitely won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I've made this before and love it. Im visiting my son & his family so I was happy to find it on Allrecipes so I could fix this for them. You probably don't need to fix this the night before as others have mentioned, but I sure do like having a leisurely morning while visiting and all you have to do is stick it in the oven. The only change I made was to delete one of the eggs. I like the idea of cutting back on the sugar & corn syrup & will try that next time. But if you follow the diections, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Delicious! I have made this multiple time with various types of breads. I did'nt like the layer of egg that forms with 5 eggs so I decrease to 3 or 4. This is very sweet, perfect with fresh fruit and coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Really good! I made this for overnight guests and it was perfect with coffee and fruit for breakfast. VERY SWEET, definitely could cut back on the sugar and still have a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Great receipe. I did follow everyone else's advice with only 1 tbsp of corn syrup, 3/4 brown sugar and 4 eggs instead of . Turned out great. My picky eater even loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kakeech

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hazlet, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Staunton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Delicious!!!! Absolutely loved this to-die-for recipe! Thank you! Did make a few changes - 4 eggs, 6 Tabl. butter and 3/4 cup brown sugar. Plenty sweet enough. Served with fresh berries and bacon. Wonderful! Love the make-ahead option. Definitely a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
My husband and I really liked this recipe. Unlike other suggestions, we kept the amount of brown sugar, but I used maple syrup instead of corn syrup, halved the butter instead mixing with a little very light olive oil, didn't de-crust the bread, didn't chill overnight (this is only necessary if you're afraid to stir your bread mix!), used lemon juice instead of the brandy, and added a little cinnamon and nutmeg to balance out all of the sweet. It turned out great! don't waste your time cutting crusts and chilling overnight though, I don't know why people keep saying you need this for bread puddings (I've tried both ways and it's just a waste of time!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ereshkigal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 597) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

French Toast I

You can use virtually any kind of bread to make this easy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States