Creamy Vanilla Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
this recipe is perfect. i made it for a family gathering and everyone loved it. i did ice cream once before ad it was hard but this one is creamy. i tried it on blueberry pie, apple pie, in rootbeer and by itself and i dont know what which i like more. im about to make more tonight. next i think i will try chocolate. then raspberry chocolate chip, mint chocolate chip and when i feel like getting really creative i'll try a peanut butter chocolate chip with a caramel swirl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Sooo creamy. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Incredible. I first made it for a cookout and I added a quart of fresh crushed strawberries. The next time I served it buffet style. Everyone agreed it was perfect without adding a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
My son loves custard style ice cream so I added 2 more egg yolks and a teaspoon more vanilla.Very rich and creamy, just what we were looking for.Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This was AWESOME....we loved it a bunch, we're making it again next week with apple pie for guests we have coming over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alvin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
fabulous and I can't get enough. Iserved it over peach cobbler last night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELAANDJAKERS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwalk, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I've tried others..this is the only one you need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gweb8

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Perkasie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Wonderful. I doubled the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purplesun7

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Turned out perfectly. It was my first time making a custard style ice cream. I wish i left it in the ice cream maker so it could set up longer i stopped it after 20 mins, i will let it go for 30 mins next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakersman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
My son's 18th birthday party is this weekend and I promised him that I would make homemade chocolate chip ice cream to go with his chocolate chip cake. I was bored with the recipes in the booklet that came with my ice cream maker and they never tasted just right - always kind of grainy with a filmy aftertaste. So I went looking for one to use today and this one takes the cake! I modified it just a bit and doubled the recipe and here is what I used - **note this made a perfect 4 quart serving size!** 4 eggs, 2 cups of sugar, 1/2 tsp of salt, 4 cups of whipping cream, 2 cups of half and half, 2 cups of milk (I used 2%), 3 T vanilla, mini chocolate chips. I started by taking the sugar and the eggs and creaming them until they were thick and gooey. In a medium pan, I put all the milk and cream in and stirred it constantly. Once it was hot, I added the vanilla and the egg/sugar mixture. I continued cooking on medium heat about 15 minutes, still stirring constantly. After about 15 minutes, it will start to thicken nicely and stick to the back of the spoon. I pour my custard into a bowl and lined the top of the custard with plastic wrap before adding the lid. Let it cool for a few hours in the fridge then popped it in my Rival and started churning! I added the chocolate chips about halfway through the churning process. It took a full 40 - 45 minutes but it was perfect when it came out! I felt like I was eating an ice cream sundae fresh off of the farm! Thank you so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Treehuggr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hernando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States