Creamy Vanilla Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Made the recipe as published for a party of 20 to raves from all. I've tried more custard-like bases and lighter bases, but to me, this is absolutely the perfect balance. Don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Maitland Walker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Wonderful! I switched the whipping cream (2 cups) and half-and-half (2.5 cups), mostly because the small containers are 2 cups and I only had one. It still turned out delicious! I added vanilla bean...yum. I love the consistency when it freezes, and it tastes better each day - well, up to 3 days anyway, that's the longest it's lasted around here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This ice cream was delicious but I did make two minor changes (one of which was on purpose) - I used 1 vanilla bean instead of vanilla extract and I only let it set up in my fridge for a few hours before putting it into my ice cream maker. I wanted to try the flavor of a vanilla bean since extract tends to make ice cream taste "store bought". One bean didn't yield a very strong vanilla flavor, but that could be due to the fact that I needed the ice cream the same evening as I made the base. Therefore, the base didn't sit as long as it probably should have to allow the flavors to meld and mellow. The flavor and texture was so good after on a few short hours in the refrigerator that I can only imagine how wonderful they must be after allowing the base to sit overnight. I'm looking foward to trying this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I would like to know what size freezer this recipe is for. Mine is a 5 quart and This came out a little on the lite sweet side and heavy on the cream tating side. Otherwise it was dekicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Really wonderful ice cream and well worth the required slow cooking time for the custard. We've made this several times now, and are really happy with the rich flavor. It's quite good on it's own without any embellishments. I make it as is, no changes, and it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ford, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Creamy & delicious! Followed the recipe very closely - I doubled everything but TRIPLED the vanilla - cooking the custard mixture just to 180 degrees, stirring constantly. Stored in the fridge overnight & I'm not sure why but there were some curd-like chunks which I just strained out prior to adding the vanilla just before freezing. The double recipe was enough to serve 10 adult & 4 children & was LOVED by all! I'm really glad I tripled the vanilla, & I could see this easily being used as a base for other flavors!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Great ice cream. Only gave 4 stars, because the vanilla flavor was a little strong for my personal taste. Otherwise very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
This was my first attempt at homemade ice cream. I picked it because of the reviews and it used fewer eggs than others and I didn't have many on hand. It exceeded our expectations! It has wonderful consistency and tastes fabulous! I used whole milk in place of the half and half. I also scraped two vanilla beans into the mixture before I heated it (plus used the regular amount of extract). I WILL make it again and use it for a base for other flavors! UPDATE: Added small can of crushed pineapple, coconut extract and toasted coconut for an amazing pina colada ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I loved this recipe. very flavorful and creamy. I also loved the fact that the eggs were cooked and that you used the whole egg. I've gotten tired of stacking egg whites because of recipes that only use the yolk. this one is a keeper. I halfed the recipe, and used organic vanilla extract. For those living in France, I used Elle&vire creme Fleurette entiere (30 %) as the whipping cream and Elle&vire Fleurette 15% as the half and half cream. I cooked everything, let in cool then put in the fridge until cold then poured it in my ice cream maker. it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States