Creamy Vanilla Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This was a WOW!!! My mom said it was great especially when I added caramel sauce on the top. THANKS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noor

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This is such an easy, tasty vanilla ice cream recipe! Even though it is a cooked version, I found this to be very easy to make, and everyone loved it! I used this recipe as a base for homemade cookie dough ice cream and used the "Cookie Dough for Ice Cream (eggless)" recipe on this site. Although one recipe didn't make enough cookie dough for this ice cream recipe, the results were absolutely delicious. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
This wasn't creamy. It tasted like frozen sweetened cool whip. I'm still looking for the perfect ice cream recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
This is a great Hagan Daz style ice cream. Rich and creamy. Also, a great base for other ice creams. I made a fantastic rum raisin. This is my "go to" recipe for homemade ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
I increased the vanilla to 1 Tbl to give it a strong vanilla flavor, added an extra egg yolk, and cooked it to a slightly higher temperature, based on the previous reviewers suggestions. Excellent recipe. Smooth, creamy with a nice body to it. Highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
It's definitely a custard, but it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I loved it! The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is b/c it is more of a frozen custard than an ice cream. I personally love frozen custard and will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Superb!! My kids loved it and said it was better than store-bought and I only buy Breyers and Edy's. Only my husband didn't care for it; he thought it tasted like whipped cream - it wasn't sweet enough for him. -Update: Even though I rated this 5 stars, I still came up with small pieces of egg white no matter how slow I heated it. So I did what I knew to do and that was to warm the milk to a light simmer and combine the eggs, sugar and salt separately and temper the egg mixture. This time it was perfect. No little pieces of egg yolk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
made this in my old fashioned hand crank freezer and i will never buy ice cream again! i did add about a quarter of a gallon of 2% milk though b/c my freezer is REALLY big and the recipe barely filled up the bottom! it was still absolutely delish and i will make it probably every few days for my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
I decided to try this in spite of having a good family recipe handed down. It was a smash at work and was even requested I make it later for someone's birthday. It's going to be the new family recipe now. I didn't have half and half, so did 1/2 whipping cream and 1/2 2% milk instead and it worked out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States