Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This was excellent, very hearty and filling. I did add a package of frozen vegetables and really liked the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
This was so good. I made it for my work and everyone loved it. I did add more broth and 1/2 cup of rice. I used chicken rice a roni. Next time I make it I will add carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I think this is a good base recipe, but in my opinon there's too much heavy cream and a bit too much flour. I haven't tried to alter it, but may try some of the alterations others have made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I made one substitution (half and half for the heavy cream) but did the rest as written. Tasted it, found it to be too salty so I added more 1/2 & 1/2. Everyone seemed to enjoy it, next time I'll add celery and carrots, use 3/4 of the seasoning packet, and perhaps less flour in the roux since it thickened up A LOT. And that was with the additional cream I added! With a few tweaks it'd be even a notch higher than the good soup it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Very flavorful. Easy to make. Make just a 1/2 recipe for less leftovers. Could add carrots or other veggies too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Really good! Make a double batch and freeze some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rice Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
This is the first time I tried to make a creamy recipe so I kept to the original (cream part) with lots of butter and heavy cream. I changed a few things with the hearty ingredients though: I used 1lb ground turkey; browned it with onion and garlic. I put in fresh spinach for color and during the simmer portion I added one more box of rice-a-roni wild rice (without the packet), 1 cup of celery and 1/4 cup of white wine like one reviewer did and this came out amazing. My waistline has increased in size just after one sitting but it was so darn delicious!! Next time I will reduce the butter and use 2% milk. Thank you for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Used almost two boxes of long grain rice. Also, just used milk instead of cream and tasted great. Can use frozen carrots, but fresh taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Followed the suggestions of others, added chopped onion, garlic, carrot, and celery, and also added a chopped red pepper, since I had one. I used leftover rotisserie chicken, and put the bones in the 2 cups of water and let them boil together while I made the roux. After I took the bones out, it looked a bit lower than 2 cups, so I added some wine. YUM! Many thanks to all, especially the original submitter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This turned out great! I made a few tweaks, though: I used instant rice instead of wild. For the seasoning, a mix of paprika, parsley, seasoned salt, pepper and garlic. I also sauteed mushrooms, celery and carrots and added those (just add however many you like). This is the best recipe! Definitely a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,580) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States