Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This was fantastic! I added some kale, mushrooms and onions and sauteed those with olive oil and used milk instead of heavy cream and less salt. Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I am only giving 4 stars due to modifications made...but what an awesome base recipe!! I am certain it would be great "as is", but I kind of combined this with another recipe found on site and then followed some suggestions made by others. I used 3 chicken breasts(boiled in homemade veggie broth), homemade chicken broth, Minnesota wild rice (cooked in chicken broth/water), sautéed celery, carrots and shallots in olive oil...added fresh mushrooms. I also used whole milk as opposed to the heavy cream and added about 3/4 cup of white wine the last 15 minutes. It was super tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Love it! I have made this many times now. I add lots of chopped carrots and celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
After reading several reviews, I decided to make the following modifications. First, sautee about 1 c. onion (minced) with 4 garlic cloves (minced) in some olive oil. Then add a 14.5 oz can sliced carrots (drained & cut into smaller pieces) and sautee it for a couple more minutes before adding it to the broth, water and chicken. I also use low sodium chicken broth, 8.5 oz of wild rice, 1/3 cup whole wheat flour, 5 tbsp. butter, and 2 cups 1% milk. I also get a small cooked whole chicken from the grocery store and use the chicken from that. I added 1/4 tsp Lawry's seasoned salt (in addition to the 1/2 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp pepper that the recipe calls for). The result is a thick and creamy soup that is A-MAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
A+ I simmer a whole chicken, pick it and use that in it and I think it tastes better but still so easy and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynsey Weber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This was delicious! I added carrots, celery, onion and some a few diced garlic cloves the second time I made it. I didn't have the instant rice so I used long grain wild rice and cooked it in chicken broth. Also added some Thyme. Great recipe by its self or alter it to your taste. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Grange Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Micanopy, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
So easy and absolutely delicious! I added shredded carrots and a little more pepper. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Add Veggies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
This is so good and easy. I made it in a crockpot, put uncooked chicken breasts, broth, rice, seasonings, onion, celery, and carrots. I added extra chicken broth and onion salt. When I was ready to serve it I made the roux. Could add more rice. Reviews say cut back flour and use milk instead of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Best recipe ever! The only thing I do different is add onions to the chicken broth and chicken and let it simmer for 10 min. My 7 year old son loves this in a bread bowl. I also made a large stock pot of this soup for my church's Christmas party. Lets just say there were no left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,602) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States