Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
This is our favorite soup. My kids love it! I always just cut up 2 chicken breasts into bite size pieces and brown them in olive oil, S&P. When that is done I put the chicken in foil and set aside. I add 2-3 TBSP of butter to the pot and sauté 1 minced onion, 2 garlic cloves(minced), 2 stalks of celery (diced) and 1/3 c. of minced carrots and S&P. Once softened, I add the flour and mix it until the veges are coated. I add the chicken stock and about 3 cups of white rice and about 1 tsp of thyme. Then I add the water & milk (instead of heavy cream-it still comes out thick & creamy!). Cook until thickened about 10 minutes and then I add the chicken. The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caryl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I used this recipe as a base for my tastes. I took 1 qt of home made chicken stock and 4 whole,skinless,chicken legs,(legs and thighs separated),put them in the crockpot on low,and let them simmer overnight. In the morning I drained the legs,reserving stock, let cool,and picked & chopped the meat. In the crockpot I threw a whole 6 oz.package of brown & wild mix,into the already hot reserved broth. In a stock pot, I sauteed in 2 TBS olive oil, 1 whole leek,tougher parts of green top removed, 1 cup each celery hearts and carrots,chopped, and 6 oz. mushrooms,diced small, until tender. I added to the stock pot 1 qt of homemade chicken broth and reserved broth/rice mixture,chicken meat, & I brought all to a boil and let simmer. I add an additional 1/2 C. wild rice mix & cook until tender. I wanted less calories so I used 6 TBS unsalted butter and 1/2 C.flour to make roux, and add 2 C. 1 percent milk. This makes 12 servings, and was a big hit at a church pot luck. (Approx. 286 calories).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I've made this recipe several times now. Always great. I went to make it one day and didn't have a wild rice mix so I used Trader Joe's Rice Orzo and Pilaf mix. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Delicious!! The Best Cream of Chicken Rice I have made! The only thing I added was garlic and a bit of garlic powder as I put it in almost everything few baby peas added might be nice next time!! Thank you for sharing is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Such a great recipe! I first made it as written and it was delicious. The second time I tweaked it just a bit. I boiled my chicken for this recipe and used 2 cups of it's water instead of plain water. I also used regular milk instead of the heavy cream and it was just as rich and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Annamarie
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
First time writing a review. This was so good! I added a few additions: 1/2c carrots, 1/2c celery and 1/2c broccoli. Also, I used a little less than the 2c heavy cream. The soup was very thick. The next day I heated it up with a good amount of water to make it thinner. Next time I will probably add an additional 1c water when making. Boyfriend said this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annamarie
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Amazing! My only change was that since I was doubling the recipe, I added 3 small onions and 1 celery heart sliced to the melting butter. This soup is so, so good and I'm known for my soup cooking. Amy C. Greensburg, PA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ro0ney
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Added carrots and broccoli. Used 1 cup heavy cream, one cup milk. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ro0ney
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
it was very heavy on the dairy. delicious though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Not a bad beginning, but it needs some serious work. I added garlic powder, herbes de provence, celery and carrots and it was STILL bland. Also, this soup was way too thick. When I reheated the leftovers for lunch today it was a solid casserole! It didn't thin at all when warmed. Not awful, but not nearly as good as the rating would lead you to believe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,509) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States