Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Modified this recipe by sautéing 1 sweet onion, 1 C. chopped baby carrots, 1 C. chopped celery, and 1 small can sliced mushrooms in 2 tbs butter. Added 3-14.5 oz cans chicken broth and 4.5 oz water (to equal 6 cups liquid) and chopped rotisserie chicken. Brought to a boil, then added 1 pkg white & wild rice (NOT fast cook), reduced heat to med-low, and cooked for 20 min. Made roux per recipe, whisked into soup, and cooked an additional 10 min. Added more salt halfway through end cooking. Served with French bread. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I love this recipe. I had some leftover turkey meat from Thanksgiving so I used that instead of chicken and it still tastes yummy. This is the perfect comfort food for cold weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Alvarez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
BEST SOUP EVER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
The soup was easy but bland. I added a bunch of onion powder to get some flavor and will add sauteed onions and celery the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Best soup ever ... I made few changes I added carrot and celery and I used chicken rice instead of wild rice and it was very testy my kids loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
This is a great, simple recipe to make. I took the suggestions of others and added carrot, onion, celery and garlic. I also used half and half in one batch and the other I used 2% milk, both turned out fine with great flavor. This is a keeper! A "comfort" soup worth sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
This is on our rotation of comfort foods. Tastes even better a day or so later! Great with a bread on the side! Better than panera!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Van Haaften

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
It was awesome! I added a package of microwavable veggies. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolanda Harris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Did add carrots and celery to the soup, but everything else followed to the letter and loved it! My family really enjoyed it, as well. Plan to take to a dinner next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Delicious! And it should be with the amount of butter and cream that is in this. But it is very filling so you don't eat a lot. I made according to directions. The only criticism I would have for this recipe is that the "10-15 min until heated through" turned out to be "until rice is burned on the bottom. Make sure you stir ever couple min or turn the heat down. Came out to 6 very heavy bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,546) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States