Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2015
I love chicken and wild rice soup. I have been searching for a good recipe for a long time and finally landed on this one...only to be disappointed. I followed it exactly and it turned out way too thick and way too flour-y. I added onions and carrots to the butter and seasoning mix because it adds more flavor. But after adding in the 3/4 cup of flour I had to put in more butter, which is probably because of the veggies. By the time I followed the recipe and it was done, I took a taste test. Holy flour and cream batman! I added another cup of stock and white wine and more salt and pepper. Still didn't taste right :( The search for the perfect wild rice soup is still on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2015
I made this today and took the advice of so many and added the carrots and celery. Definitely glad I did! I also used only 1/2 cup of flour and mixed it with whole milk, not heavy cream. It came out absolutely delicious and so thick! I'm serving it with Kings Hawaiian rolls, my family's favorite. This one is a keeper. Thanks for the wonderful recipe and the suggestions to take it over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2015
This is a family favorite. My 6 year old niece loves this soup. I make this often and I have to make double or triple it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angie Sweitzer Stuck
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2015
we added carrots and celery, which the recipe didn't call for. it was excellent. Definitely making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
This is my all time favorite dish to cook in the winter! So easy to make and it delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
This soup was good. To make it 5 stars, I added sautéed onion, carrot, celery and garlic. Also, half and half rather than heavy cream. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gracehilton
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
This is a good recipe. I made some changes. I omitted the chicken broth and used chicken bouillon cubes. Six of them. Omitted the salt. Added sour cream, grated parmesan cheese, and green onions, corn, peas and carrots. With four cups of water. Also omitted the flour. If you want a thicker soup add more rice. Served it with garlic bread. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
Excellent soup. Very hearty and filling. I did not use heavy cream but used half and half and it turned out great. I can't imagine it would have turned out better had I used it. It gets thick as it sits, but adding a little bit of regular milk when reheating solved that problem. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
Let me start off with one I am not a chef, but I love cream of chicken and rice, and thise soup hit thw spot. I didnt get the right rice, with the special seasoning but I improvised and added italian seasoning, onion powder and basil, it was heaven.. Going to always use the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alissa Duran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
Steve hated it so it doesn't matter that I thought it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,614) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States