Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
This is the first time I tried to make a creamy recipe so I kept to the original (cream part) with lots of butter and heavy cream. I changed a few things with the hearty ingredients though: I used 1lb ground turkey; browned it with onion and garlic. I put in fresh spinach for color and during the simmer portion I added one more box of rice-a-roni wild rice (without the packet), 1 cup of celery and 1/4 cup of white wine like one reviewer did and this came out amazing. My waistline has increased in size just after one sitting but it was so darn delicious!! Next time I will reduce the butter and use 2% milk. Thank you for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Way too salty. Would leave out the salt. The chicken broth was too salty--would do more milk or water and less broth. Also, can just use corn starch to thicken to desired amount and leave out the flour. Used almost two boxes of long grain rice. Also, just used milk instead of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Followed the suggestions of others, added chopped onion, garlic, carrot, and celery, and also added a chopped red pepper, since I had one. I used leftover rotisserie chicken, and put the bones in the 2 cups of water and let them boil together while I made the roux. After I took the bones out, it looked a bit lower than 2 cups, so I added some wine. YUM! Many thanks to all, especially the original submitter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This turned out great! I made a few tweaks, though: I used instant rice instead of wild. For the seasoning, a mix of paprika, parsley, seasoned salt, pepper and garlic. I also sauteed mushrooms, celery and carrots and added those (just add however many you like). This is the best recipe! Definitely a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
One of my favorites. I use skim milk to cut down on the calories, and it tastes just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
This is fantastic!! My husband and I love this recipe, we use a rotisserie chicken instead and just shred it and add it to the soup! Delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ustacks
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Took the advice of other reviewers and added celery, carrots, onion, and garlic. Cooked in a broth for about 45 min with bay leaves before adding the rice and chicken. Used half n half and skim milk to cut down on calories a little. Still good consistency and a hearty meal. Think I would have preferred cubing the chicken instead of shredding but overall a very satisfying meal. Added fresh baked bread on the side for dipping to complete the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
This is restaurant quality soup at home! I used Uncle Ben's Long Grain & Wild Rice Fast Cook - comes in 6.2 ozs. pkg. - and used all but just under a 1/4 cup of the rice. Followed the directions exactly. Definitely my new favorite soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila F.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Thank you so much for this recipe! I loved it! Since I can't eat grain flours, I used buckwheat (scant 3/4 cup), followed the directions and served the family with a loaf of bread - this was simply perfect, even my picky husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
My family made me promise to make it again! I added lots of carrots, celery and a couple cloves of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,494) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States