Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Added mushrooms, carrot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hanners

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Fantastic flavor and heartiness! My 8 & 9 yr old picky eaters loved it. I had regular wild rice so I just cooked it separately. I sauteed a medium diced onion and 2 Tbs minced garlic in olive oil, then added a 1/2 cup of white wine and reduced a bit. Also, cut back the butter, flour and used skim milk. I added a Traders Joe's Cream of Mushroom soup because I didn't have mushrooms on hand and I love the flavor mushrooms add to a cream soup. Served this soup with crusty bread. I will make this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Did a few variations added sautéed carrots celery onion, fresh parsley but use the base of the recipe otherwise. Fantastic !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
It was very good, but like other cooks, I made some changes. I used milk instead of heavy cream and just added more flour. I reduced the amount of butter to 1/4 cup. I added carrots, onions, mushrooms, and celery. Uncle Ben's quick cooking rice makes it so fast and oh so delcious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Delicious! Adding fresh sautéed mushrooms puts it over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This recipe is very easy and good on a cold day. It was a little bland the first time I made it. I added a packet of onion soup mix to it the second time and that helped. I also used 6 cups of chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I don't normally review/rate recipes, but this was outstanding (with a few minor changes!) I sauteed 2 cloves garlic, 1/2 cup chopped onion and chopped celery in olive oil and added to chicken broth mixture. I also added 1/2 cup pinot grigio at the end. My 13 year old is extremely picky, and loved this. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Used 2% milk and it turned out great. Only thing I'd change is using more wild rice vs the mix. Way too much white rice in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This is absolutely devine! Served with Texas toast on a day where the high was 21 degrees!! Added carrots with the rice for color. Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I made this soup the other day, and my family LOVEEED it!!!! I did however make a few changes to it. I couldn't find the rice the recipe asked for, so I just used zatarans wild rice. And than I also sauteed garlic, carrots, celery and onions in the stock pot before adding the chicken and broth. My 5 year old LOVED this soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,487) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States