Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I just made this and WOW delish..the only thing I did a little different was add some corn and carrots then a splash of dry sherry..it really was amazing...The addition of the Sherry took it to a whole new level...dry white wine would be ok too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I made this recipe but instead of chicken I used hamburger, then I substituted something for every other ingredient, it was horrible. Then I made it as recommended and it was awesome, the kids even loved it. Seriously though folks, if you substitute 75% of the ingredients you are no longer reviewing this recipe. You are reviewing your own :) Why not submit the essentially New recipe for others to try? I like to see tips on variations, but at a certain point the recipe isn't anything like the original submission . This is delicious as described.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Awesome as written, but I like to add sauteed carrots, onions, celery and garlic plus a little poultry seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
This is the most absolutely delish soup I've made! Had a few changes, add ons. Put carrots, celery and a little onion and crushed garlic in. I think that really adds to it. Used 1/2 cream and 1/2 1% milk and it just worked out perfect. My husband had 4 bowls hot off the stove. Used the Uncle Bens wild rice and whole seasoning packet and wouldn't change that as it worked out really good. Also just used a rotisserie chicken from the deli, cut up. Makes no difference at all! Make this recipe! It's sooooo good!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kimberly, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sk
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I used canned milk, as I didn't have cream. Still tastes great! Easy, easy recipe. I took the advice of using my leftover rotisserie chicken, so the meal was super quick. Will use this recipe often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
As is, the soup turned out to thick. I didn't read the suggestions to cut back on flour and use milk instead of cream until after I made the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Very good and fairly easy. Great for a kitchen beginner like me. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This was a great recipe. I also added celery, carrots and mushrooms. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This soup was amazing. We added carrots and celery. Even my 3 year old loved it!!! Will make for years to come
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
This is our favorite soup. My kids love it! I always just cut up 2 chicken breasts into bite size pieces and brown them in olive oil, S&P. When that is done I put the chicken in foil and set aside. I add 2-3 TBSP of butter to the pot and sauté 1 minced onion, 2 garlic cloves(minced), 2 stalks of celery (diced) and 1/3 c. of minced carrots and S&P. Once softened, I add the flour and mix it until the veges are coated. I add the chicken stock and about 3 cups of white rice and about 1 tsp of thyme. Then I add the water & milk (instead of heavy cream-it still comes out thick & creamy!). Cook until thickened about 10 minutes and then I add the chicken. The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caryl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,488) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States