Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Awesome as written, but I like to add sauteed carrots, onions, celery and garlic plus a little poultry seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
This is the most absolutely delish soup I've made! Had a few changes, add ons. Put carrots, celery and a little onion and crushed garlic in. I think that really adds to it. Used 1/2 cream and 1/2 1% milk and it just worked out perfect. My husband had 4 bowls hot off the stove. Used the Uncle Bens wild rice and whole seasoning packet and wouldn't change that as it worked out really good. Also just used a rotisserie chicken from the deli, cut up. Makes no difference at all! Make this recipe! It's sooooo good!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kimberly, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sk
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I used canned milk, as I didn't have cream. Still tastes great! Easy, easy recipe. I took the advice of using my leftover rotisserie chicken, so the meal was super quick. Will use this recipe often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
As is, the soup turned out to thick. I didn't read the suggestions to cut back on flour and use milk instead of cream until after I made the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Very good and fairly easy. Great for a kitchen beginner like me. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This was a great recipe. I also added celery, carrots and mushrooms. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This soup was amazing. We added carrots and celery. Even my 3 year old loved it!!! Will make for years to come
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
This is our favorite soup. My kids love it! I always just cut up 2 chicken breasts into bite size pieces and brown them in olive oil, S&P. When that is done I put the chicken in foil and set aside. I add 2-3 TBSP of butter to the pot and sauté 1 minced onion, 2 garlic cloves(minced), 2 stalks of celery (diced) and 1/3 c. of minced carrots and S&P. Once softened, I add the flour and mix it until the veges are coated. I add the chicken stock and about 3 cups of white rice and about 1 tsp of thyme. Then I add the water & milk (instead of heavy cream-it still comes out thick & creamy!). Cook until thickened about 10 minutes and then I add the chicken. The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caryl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I used this recipe as a base for my tastes. I took 1 qt of home made chicken stock and 4 whole,skinless,chicken legs,(legs and thighs separated),put them in the crockpot on low,and let them simmer overnight. In the morning I drained the legs,reserving stock, let cool,and picked & chopped the meat. In the crockpot I threw a whole 6 oz.package of brown & wild mix,into the already hot reserved broth. In a stock pot, I sauteed in 2 TBS olive oil, 1 whole leek,tougher parts of green top removed, 1 cup each celery hearts and carrots,chopped, and 6 oz. mushrooms,diced small, until tender. I added to the stock pot 1 qt of homemade chicken broth and reserved broth/rice mixture,chicken meat, & I brought all to a boil and let simmer. I add an additional 1/2 C. wild rice mix & cook until tender. I wanted less calories so I used 6 TBS unsalted butter and 1/2 C.flour to make roux, and add 2 C. 1 percent milk. This makes 12 servings, and was a big hit at a church pot luck. (Approx. 286 calories).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I've made this recipe several times now. Always great. I went to make it one day and didn't have a wild rice mix so I used Trader Joe's Rice Orzo and Pilaf mix. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States