Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
Very easy to make and everyone loved it! Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Wonderful! I have prepared this recipe as written as well as making a low fat version. Both versions were excellent and I could tell little difference between the two. For the healthier version, I followed the changes suggested by other reviewers and used 6T butter, 2% milk, and 1/2 C flour. Thank you for sharing this recipe that my whole family loves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I would eat this cold for breakfast. I used half and half but otherwise no changes. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
I made this for dinner last night and it was amazing. I followed the advice of other reviewers and made a few small changes to the recipe: Softened 1 finely minced garlic clove and 1/4 c each finely minced onion, carrot, and celery in a small bit of olive oil before adding water, broth, and chicken; replaced cream with 1 can of full-fat evaporated milk + enough skim milk to make 2 cups of liquid; made roux with 6T butter and 1/2 c flour. The recipe calls for a 4.5 ounce box of rice mix but I used a 6 ounce box of Near East Long Grain & Wild Rice Mix (original flavor) and it was perfect. Next time (and there WILL be a next time), I will add 1/2 c finely minced sweet red pepper to the veggies before adding the liquids and chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
This is a wonderful soup!!!!! The only changes I made were that I used 1/2 C flour instead of the 3/4; and I used milk and half & half instead of heavy cream. For the rice I used Uncle Ben's. You might have to thin the leftovers with a splash of water or milk the next day. Everyone loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeanius
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I've made this recipe several times now and each time I've made a small change and it has always turned out delicious. I made a pot once and ate nothing but this for 3 days. I have used heavy cream and then time substituted lactose free milk or regular milk. It tastes yummy either way. I always add a bit of chopped carrots, garlic, and because I love rice have added about 3/4 extra quick cook white rice. This is one of my regularly cooked dishes. When it's rainy or cold out I crave this. It is so simple and easy. I've cubed the chicken and shredded it. Personally I do like shredding 1 1/2 organic chicken breats the best. It is delicious with freshly baked bread. I highly recommend this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Yes, we had this soup last night and it us by far, THE BEST creamy chicken wild rice soup we have ever eaten. Even my husband raved about how delicious it was. Our daughter prepared this soup and like others she modified it to her liking. She added the carrots, onions, celery and she added 4 cloves of finely chopped garlic, which she sautéed this all in the butter, but only using 1/2 cup instead of 3/4/ cup. To help with less calories, she used 1% milk instead of cream which did not change the creaminess of the soup at all!! Look no further, friends. You will keep this recipe for many meals in the future. BRAVO!! Joanne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne D'Abate
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
This is a very tasty recipe, but maybe a bit too rich for my taste. Per several of the reviews, I'll use milk next time (maybe even 2%). BTW: The only change I made was to add some carrots and celery. Thanks, Stephanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
I didn't have any celery and carrots to add like other reviewers suggested so I actually steamed a bag of mixed vegetables (corn, green beans, peas, and carrots) and added it instead. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Restaurant quality added onions carrots celery fresh garlic fmly loved will keep in arsenal for years to come thAnks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kia Ahrise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,604) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States