Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
My husband and I absolutely love this soup!! He regularly requests it. I don't change a thing and it's very easy to make. I've made it between half a dozen and a dozen times. Sometimes we'll even freeze some for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Made it with leftover turkey I had in the freezer. Also, added a splash of wine and since I didn't find the flavour packet I added cumin, ginger and turmeric just as another reviewer suggested. My family loved it. Especially since it snowed today. Comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
If I was the only person in my household rating this recipe, I would also likely give it more like 4.5 to 5 stars. But The Hubbs just doesn't get that excited about any soup. As a "food group," soup is more like a beverage to him. So, when I say that he gave this one between 3-4 stars, it really means something. I made it almost "as-written." I "took some help" from a little more than half of a rotisserie chicken and I added about a 1/2 cup (maybe a little more) of peas and carrots for color. I REALLY enjoyed this one. Next time, the biggest change I would probably make is making the roux in a larger pan -- I just didn't give myself enough room. But there certainly WILL be a next time. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
YUM! I had to adapt for gluten/dairy free diet restrictions but still amazing! My picky kid loves it. I followed several of the reviews that suggested sauteeing onion, garlic and adding celery and carrot to the broth mixture. I used earth balance dairy free butter, and cashew milk to sub the dairy, gluten free all purpose flour (similar to better batter) for the flour. Thickened up very nicely! I couldn't find the wild rice w seasoning so I had to wing the seasonings- I used onion powder, garlic powder, salt, pepper, cumin, ginger. SO maybe it isn't a review of this recipe anymore, but at least an excellent adaption for the gluten/dairy free!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
It was good but i had to add corn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Also good using leftover turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
Wow, this soup is delicious... but one bowl each knocked my boyfriend and me out for the rest of the day, and we're by no means calorie-counters or health nuts. This is an incredibly heavy soup as written and I strongly suggest taking some low-calorie or lighter alternatives to as many of the ingredients as possible. Unfortunately I think I am now turned off of this soup for good. To finish off the leftovers, we could only eat than half a bowl at a time... Beware!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Searcy, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
Very easy to make and everyone loved it! Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Wonderful! I have prepared this recipe as written as well as making a low fat version. Both versions were excellent and I could tell little difference between the two. For the healthier version, I followed the changes suggested by other reviewers and used 6T butter, 2% milk, and 1/2 C flour. Thank you for sharing this recipe that my whole family loves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,602) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States