Cream of Cauliflower Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Blah! For the amount of calories in this dish, I would have expected a lot more flavor. I don't think the cheese is optional, since you need it for added depth. I'm just not impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Good recipe - just a few changes made it the best cauliflower soup I have ever eaten. For the chicken stock, I used the College Inn Chicken stock with wine and herbs; I cut the wine down to about 1/2 cup because of the wine already in the stock and I cut the milk to 1/2 cup to decrease the volume slightly. I increased the butter to 8 Tbsp and used 2 leeks, no onion. I also added 2 cloves of sliced garlic and a large sprig of fresh rosemary. I cooked the cauliflower in the broth, then pureed in the pot with immersion blender. My final change was to thicken when the cream/milk was added rather than to make a roux at the beginning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This recipe was very good but Cream of Cauliflower soup II was even better maybe if we combined the two recipes we would have a great one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Chateauguay, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
This was such a great recipe! The only thing I changed was how I prepared the cauliflower." - instead of steaming it I roasted it for about 30mins and then added it! So good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I want to give this recipe a 3.5 as per the directions and 4 with my changes. I left out the flour to make it gluten free and reduced the liquid 3 cups and it was still a little too liquidy. Instead of 1 cup milk and 1 cup cream, I used just 1 cup half and half and it was plenty "creamy." I used a blend of swiss and guyrere cheese- cheese definitely "makes" the soup. Will make again- great way to use up a head of cauliflower that was starting to go bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
This was absolutely awesome!!! 5 star restaurant quality. Great flavor! Don't change anything. Use the swiss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Very good! The only ingredients I changed were I used 4 tbsp salted butter, 8 cups chicken broth, and 1 cup half and half cream instead of 1 cup each of milk and cream. I prepared all up until adding cream as directed the night before. The next morning I put the pureed soup in a crock pot and added the cream then and let it sit on low all morning for a work luncheon and had shredded cheese(I used med. cheddar) available on the side. I thought no need for any other spices other than tarragon and thyme, and the wine gave it a great flavour too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Regional Municipality Of Niagara, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This is sooo good. The wine adds such a nice flavour. I've made this on a few occasions and it just gets better every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkowal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I am hooked on this recipe! The only things I omitted was the milk and the carrot. I felt the heavy cream was enough for our taste. I doubled the recipe because I was sure that we would like it very much and I was right! The Thyme and Terragon added so much to this. I was able to use cauliflower and leeks from our veggie garden. This recipe is a keeper!!! I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
We loved this soup...my only tweaks were to not use tarragon (don't care for the flavor) ground some fresh nutmeg instead, and used about 1/2cup or so of the white wine (all I had left!) which I accidentally put in before the flour, so it acted more as a wonderful deglazing ingredient. Then I added the flour. Other than that...yummmmm :) The leftovers were even better the next day,,,you could really taste the flavor of both the leeks and wine. Thanks for the post! Oh, I forgot...did not use the cheese, not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squeaky6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayonne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cinnaminson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States