Cream of Cauliflower Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This was really good. The only thing I did different was not putting any white wine in the soup, I didn't have any. I also did not use cheese. It was really good without it. I did puree most of it, but left some very small pieces of cauliflower. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I was hoping this recipe would get pretty close to some cream of cauliflower soup I had at a restaurant recently. It was good, but still needs a little... something to be like the one I had. I'll keep tweaking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
So so yummy! I had to change things up a bit only because I thought that I had some if the ingredients but after starting dinner, I found out I was missing some things. I used celery instead of leeks and substituted sage and poultry seasoning for terragon. I am going to make sure that I have the proper ingredients next time I make it...because I will definitely be making this soup again and again!!! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Leavitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This is an excellent soup. My husband loved it. I made a few minor changes: I used 1 stick of reduced fat butter and substituted 2 cups of skim milk for the milk/whipping cream. I grated the carrot insteading of chopping to make sure it would cook fully. I also reduced wine to 1/4 cup. I did not add tarragon or thyme, but seasoned with 1 1/2 teas. salt & fresh ground pepper. I used two 16 oz packages of frozen cauliflower (cooked & mashed) instead of fresh. I was reluctant to try the Swiss cheese, but it was absolutely wonderful in this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Our family loved this soup. I added some diced fried bacon to the top before serving - put it over 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This soup was delicious-I left it a little chunky and I think next time I will use slightly less wine. I also recommend making it ahead and letting it sit before serving as (like with most soups) it gets a lot better. And cheese is not optional in my house....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Wonderful flavor. Deliteful taste! Best soup I've made in a long, long, long time. I followed the instructions exactly up to the addition of the milk products. Then I added just half of the cream and milk and half cheese and it is incredible! Highly recommend for dinner with a loaf of french or sour dough bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
So, I had this gorgeous head of cauliflower, it's fall, so, I wanted to try soup. I looked around and got a general idea of what I wanted to try and thought this recipe sounded tasty. I didn't have leeks, so just used an onion, used salted butter, and garlic. Always garlic! Instead of steaming the cauliflower, I roasted it with a drizzle of olive oil, salt and pepper, until nearing tenderness in the oven around 425. I added just a bit of water and covered with foil to steam. I don't think anything tastes better than roasted or grilled veggies with that combo, and I thought it might make this more flavorful which I needed since I didn't have tarragon on hand and just used what little fresh thyme I had. Also no cream or white pepper, just added a bit of milk after I pureed the soup and a small amount of cheddar and parm. My husband mentioned several times how good it was and I agreed. Very nice flavor, rich, but still subtle. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Oh, Lord have mercy. Loved this recipe! I made it the way the recipe called, then decided to throw in a bit of sausage . . . glad I did! It really made for a meatier mouthfeel. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This is a good and delicious soup with mild flavour, but I think it is essential to use all the ingredients listed, otherwise the soup can be a little bland. Leek, carrot, wine, spices and cheese are essential ingredients. I would use Manchego or some other sheep cheese for this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States