Cream of Cauliflower Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 7, 2007
This is a really good recipe. I love the combination of the tarragon, thyme and wine. I did not puree the soup as we like a chunkier soup. I only 1/2 cup of cream to cut down on the fat. Instead, I added 1 1/2 c. milk and heated it on the stove and thickened it with flour. I only gave it 4 stars because I felt there was a spice missing. I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
A nice soup. I was hoping for something thicker - next time I'll add a touch more flour. I used fresh thyme and omitted tarragon. I didn't have wine on hand, so omitted that and added a bit of water to dilute the broth. I didn't steam the cauliflower first - I added it at the same time as the broth. I thought more of the cauliflower flavour would be retained that way. I am allergic to cow's milk - so I used approximately 2 tbsps goat's cream and substituted the milk for soy milk. It turned out great and my boyfriend loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
Easy to make, very flavorful. Only thing we changed was that we pureed it all then added a 2nd head of cauliflower that was just steamed and cut up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
Sorry, I tried to love this soup. I actually would give it 3.5 stars - 4 is pushing it - My children (13, 12, & 9) did not like it as much and rated it between 2.5-3. I will only rate something 5 star that the whole family loves & that I would make again. I did use just 1/2 c. milk + 1/2 c. half & half, half of an onion & half of the swiss cheese. I did not puree it, but mashed it in the pot for added texture (a little too much texture). It had too much wine in it, maybe too sophisticated of a flavor for my kids. If you are going to try this, consider pureeing half of the soup and using 1/4 c. wine for a more family-friendly soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
After following the recipe exactly (save using a mixer instead of a blender to keep a bit of texture to the soup), a pleasantly flavored soup with a nice consistency was the result; everyone who partook in the meal was pleased. I ,however, couldn't help but spending my meal asking myself what ingredient was missing in order for this to really be excellent. Today on leftovers I have tried a few different options, and unfortunatly still have not hit on it, but intend on giving this recipe a try again in order to really take it to that next level. I would say this is a solid recipe, worth being tried, and would give it 3,5 stars if I had the option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nantes, Pays De La Loire, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
i followed the recipe word for word and it turned out fantastic. we're more than happy to have leftovers again tomorrow - in fact, we're looking forward to it! delicious recipe. we ate it with garlic bread and it was a perfect accompaniment. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilkenny, County Kilkenny, Ireland
Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
Wow, this soup was great! Restaurant quality. My hubby (a self proclaimed gourmet cook)and I just loved it. I added a few dashes of Tabasco sauce for flavor and some of Penzy's spices 4/S seasoning. I only pureed half of the cauliflower as well for some texture. I also only used 1-1/2 cups of swiss cheese. The only other change I will make the next time I make this is to use lowfat half & half instead of the whipping cream. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VickiO

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
I must say I was rather disappointed I wasted so much time and ingredients on this soup. The leek/spice combination made this soup taste rather odd. Also, I did not like the result after pureeing in the blender. All traces of the cauliflower were just gone, I couldn't even taste it. Sorry, just not my idea of cream of cauliflower soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
This turned out amazing! The tarragon fits perfectly with the cauliflower and the soup feels luxiourious, even though the ingredients were pretty inexpensive. I will probably use less broth next time and pick out some chunks of the veggies to put in after pureeing the rest, for texture. But this is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gothenburg, Västra Götalands, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
This was very nice. The wine gave it a good taste, but I felt it needed more spices so I added more tarragon and some garlic salt, too. It came out a little thin even though I used cheese which thickened it some. It was overall nice though, will make again. UPDATE: This is my second time making this soup and this time I doubled the amount of cauliflower and it came out nice and thick. Mmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States