Cream of Cauliflower Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I really liked this recipe, I tweaked it a bit, of course. I didn't have any wine so I had to skip that step, I'm sure it would have been a nicer soup had I been able to add it. I added a dash of pepper flakes for a tinsy bit of warmth and a bit more seasoning than called for, including a bay leaf. I am wondering if it would freeze alright, considering the cheese in the soup...?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thehotzip
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Excellent soup, I topped it off with some grated old cheddar cheese. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I was not very impressed with this soup. I did everything except for add the flour and milk at the end. It was good, but nothing amazing. I will not make this again as I think there are better methods for preparing cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleyenfrance

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
OMG - yum. I made some substitutions too: 5 baked potatoes, peeled instead of leeks, 2-3 Tbsp cream cheese instead of heavy cream, 2 splashes cooking sherry instead of white wine. I threw in some cooked, chopped chicken breast at the end. It would also be great with tortellini or chunky croutons. Yum, yum. My kids even asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This is an excellent recipe. Two tips: use a dry white wine and forget the milk and cream. The key is in the seasonings. I used a parmesan and romano cheese and herb seasoning. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Blah! For the amount of calories in this dish, I would have expected a lot more flavor. I don't think the cheese is optional, since you need it for added depth. I'm just not impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Good recipe - just a few changes made it the best cauliflower soup I have ever eaten. For the chicken stock, I used the College Inn Chicken stock with wine and herbs; I cut the wine down to about 1/2 cup because of the wine already in the stock and I cut the milk to 1/2 cup to decrease the volume slightly. I increased the butter to 8 Tbsp and used 2 leeks, no onion. I also added 2 cloves of sliced garlic and a large sprig of fresh rosemary. I cooked the cauliflower in the broth, then pureed in the pot with immersion blender. My final change was to thicken when the cream/milk was added rather than to make a roux at the beginning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This recipe was very good but Cream of Cauliflower soup II was even better maybe if we combined the two recipes we would have a great one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Chateauguay, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
This was such a great recipe! The only thing I changed was how I prepared the cauliflower." - instead of steaming it I roasted it for about 30mins and then added it! So good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I want to give this recipe a 3.5 as per the directions and 4 with my changes. I left out the flour to make it gluten free and reduced the liquid 3 cups and it was still a little too liquidy. Instead of 1 cup milk and 1 cup cream, I used just 1 cup half and half and it was plenty "creamy." I used a blend of swiss and guyrere cheese- cheese definitely "makes" the soup. Will make again- great way to use up a head of cauliflower that was starting to go bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States