Cream of Cauliflower Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
So, I had this gorgeous head of cauliflower, it's fall, so, I wanted to try soup. I looked around and got a general idea of what I wanted to try and thought this recipe sounded tasty. I didn't have leeks, so just used an onion, used salted butter, and garlic. Always garlic! Instead of steaming the cauliflower, I roasted it with a drizzle of olive oil, salt and pepper, until nearing tenderness in the oven around 425. I added just a bit of water and covered with foil to steam. I don't think anything tastes better than roasted or grilled veggies with that combo, and I thought it might make this more flavorful which I needed since I didn't have tarragon on hand and just used what little fresh thyme I had. Also no cream or white pepper, just added a bit of milk after I pureed the soup and a small amount of cheddar and parm. My husband mentioned several times how good it was and I agreed. Very nice flavor, rich, but still subtle. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Oh, Lord have mercy. Loved this recipe! I made it the way the recipe called, then decided to throw in a bit of sausage . . . glad I did! It really made for a meatier mouthfeel. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This is a good and delicious soup with mild flavour, but I think it is essential to use all the ingredients listed, otherwise the soup can be a little bland. Leek, carrot, wine, spices and cheese are essential ingredients. I would use Manchego or some other sheep cheese for this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
this recipe is easy to spice up with other ingredients, but wonderful as is! i make a big batch and freeze servings so i can enjoy it when i don't have time to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Yum, I grated the carrot, and used half and half. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
YUM-this was delicious! It's a little work, but definitely worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
The only reason this is not rated higher is because I really did not like the tarragon/thyme seasonings. That is probably just personal preference, but it really put me off to the point that I didn't even finish the bowl. That said, the taste and texture of the soup without those herbs was very, very nice. Because of some of the reviews and to save myself a shopping trip, I used 1 can of evaporated milk instead of milk and cream and about a third of the amount of swiss called for. Evaporated milk is very nice in soups like this, but I bet it would also be good with the heavy cream. I think the soup will be much more enjoyable with a different blend of herbs and I think I might experiment with cheddar cheese as well. It is a good recipe that I will definitely we trying again with revisions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I am making a return trip to Italy in just two short months and would like to "lose a few" before then. I am focused on finding recipes that are rich in flavor but low in carbs - this was perfect. It's just a beautiful and delicious first course soup, elegant in its simplicity! I didn't use any cheese at all (the soup was very good without it) and wonder if the flour was even necessary as I believe this would have been plenty thick and creamy without it. This is velvety smooth and mildly but pleasantly flavored. I finished each serving with a sprinkling of chopped green onion and a drizzle of white truffle oil, which took this over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I have to say this is the first cauliflower soup I've tried to make on my own. I tried this in a local restaurant and fell in love with it!!! So I came upon this recipe and couldn't wait to try it. I left out the white wine. I just added more chicken stock for more liquid. I used skim milk since there's already cream and instead of Swiss cheese I wanted to use half cheddar and half pepper jack since that's what the restaurant uses in there cauliflower soup. We loved this and I will be making this again soon. It was great with whole wheat french bread to dip!!!!! Yummmy comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
We thought this was an upscale delicious cauliflower soup. Did not change a thing. Fantastic with homemade french bread. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States