Cranberry Hootycreeks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I made these as written to try before I packaged them for gifts - they were very yummy! Being a seasoned baker, I was skeptical also of the directions to cream the butter and the egg but decided to try the recipe as-written. I figured the recipe couldn't have gotten a 5 star rating from 544 reviews if it was flawed. :) As far as the butter and egg...I got impatient after several minutes of beating with my hand mixer and just ended up throwing the jar ingredients in a hoping for the best. The butter and egg yolk fats/proteins emulsified but there was a little liquid/water left in the bowl that never mixed in (as I expected). No worries though, the end result was great! I measured everything into the jar as written but will probably do them in reverse order for gifts so the most colorful ingredients end up at the bottom since I'll have the top covered with a bit of fabric - just my packaging preference. I also opted to throw in a tsp of powdered vanilla (Nielsen Massey,) so that it is one less ingredient the recipient has to add (my only tiny modification). The dough was dry & crumbly but came together easily since I opted to roll it into balls (golf-ball sized, pressed down slightly on parchment lined pans) - I got 14. Since mine were a little on the larger size, they ended up baking 13-14 minutes. Great little cookie that will make a beautiful little gift!! One question though...were does the name come from??!??!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFarmerJen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I did not make the jars as gifts. Instead I decided to make them and give the baked cookies. I found that mixing the 1 egg, and 1/2 cup of butter was just not enough to make a batter. It was very dry and powdery I added a 2nd egg and that seemed to do the trick. It was very tasty cookie and would probably do it again.. I'm thinking the probably was the egg I used might have just been small.. Probably will be sure to use extra large egg next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
These are absolutely fantastic. I have had this recipe for YEARS and finally, after about 5 years or so, I decided to try it. My only regret is that I didn't make these sooner. i tried the recipe as written before making the jars, and I had one small issue: the butter, egg, and vanilla never got fluffy, but the cookies were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by blackgrapes
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Loved these. I had no problem filling one quart mason jars. I measured the flour and then sifted the flour into the jars. I actually had to push down the last ingredients to close the jar. I will make these for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackgrapes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I made these as gifts for people this holiday season, and not only were they fun to make, but they are really good! I made a batch to taste test what I was giving, and ended up eating the majority of the batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
As we say in Hawaii, these cookies are SO ONO (super delicious)! I just made a batch today and was so overwhelmed by how wonderful they taste! Thank you for sharing this! I substituted walnuts for the pecans because I needed a little softer nut. I will be making this a pass it on gift by sharing the baked cookies and the jar ingredients asking others to make a batch and share it with their neighbors or better yet complete strangers to spark some Christmas cheer! What better way to share Jesus? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
In theory this gift idea is great. However, the recipe did not work at all for me. (Now take into account that I am a college student and not an experienced baker by any means). I found that the butter, egg, and vanilla mixture was most likely the source of my problems. I tried twice to make it look correct, but it just wasn't going to happen. If the recipe could be perfected this would definitely get more stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I made the jar, and it was super easy and looks great! Only change was I mixed the white and brown sugars to avoid the brown sugar solidifying, per other folks' cookie jar instructions. I also found out a bit late that my friend dislikes pecans, and did some quick pecan/chip swapping! Just made the recipe to try it out, despite already having gifted it, and it was really tasty! Took me a while to mix it enough by hand, but it got there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bedford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I'm curious why there are two measurements for all purpose flour? Another reviewer mentioned flakes, and that got me further confused? Help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Pretty good. I doubled the recipe since I'm not giving them in quart jars; I'm just baking these as part of my Christmas cookie tins. I also just made as I would usually make cookies: mix the sugar and butter together, add in the egg and vanilla, then the flour and other ingredients with the cranberries and chips last. I added the last of a bag of peanut butter chips and they seemed fine in this. These are sweet, little cookies that don't spread much. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 609) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Hootycreeks

Give cranberry hootycreeks as a memorable gift of "cookies in a jar."

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States