Cranberry Hootycreeks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
This recipe did not work for me. It calls for way too much butter or not enough flour. Something is way off here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I got this for a Christmas present and just made them. They taste FANTASTIC!! Mixing the butter, egg, and vanilla is a little messy; and it doesn't "fluff," but I just dumped the rest of the stuff in and mixed it up. I might have to give these as gifts next year. I'll definitely make the cookies again just mixing them up the regular way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Really yummy. I doubled the recipe because making 18 is hardly worth the mess! I was short 1/4 cup of butter, so I sub'd olive oil. I think that probably helped them to spread better when cooking. I also added a full cup of grated coconut. The final product was really tastey, but a little crumbley bc of my additions. I also used mini choc chips which I think helped to disperse them better. I'll definitely make them again, but I think I'll either add more salt or cut back on some of the sugar. Just my personal preference. PS- I made them for me to eat, not as gifts =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Accokeek, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Have heard nothing but great things about this recipe when I made them as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
These may very well be the best cookies I've ever made! I followed the recipe exactly as stated, but eliminated the pecans. I used orange flavored cranberries. Tasted like a Christmas cookie. I didn't need to grease the cookie sheet. Cookies took about 12 minutes to cook and they were very moist. Such an easy recipe. Great tasting food with little effort is tops in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I was actually given this in a jar with instructions attatched.it was so quick and easy to make,whipped them up on christmas eve,and they were hastily consumed and enjoyed by young and old alike on Christmas day.Only trouble was when I wanted to make another batch a few days later,I realised I didn't have the recipe.Hence had to google it(as friend was away)Luckily I found it easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I made ten jars of these for Christmas gifts to coworkers and they were a hit! The texture and favors complimented each other very well plus they looked pretty in the jar. One thing I did mention on the "how to bake these" note I attached to the jars was...when mixing the butter and egg ensure the butter isn't too hot otherwise one risks scrambling the egg. (Those coworkers who aren't cooks appreciated the heads up)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I can't believe all the rave reviews which failed to mention the issue of mixing butter (oil) and egg (water). What a mess. Eventually had to mix everything together with my hands and then press the batter into patties, like hamburgers. Cookies tasted great, but I wouldn't wish this messy procedure on my friends and family, so I put the sugar in a decorative cello bag on top of the dry ingredients in the jar and amended the method to the tried and true 'cream butter and sugar together and add egg and vanilla'. Took care of the matter of the space on top, too. Kitchen chemistry, 101.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I realy love this cookie easy to make and great taste. This cookie will be the hit of the party this christmas. Also made Jars as gifts. Note: 5/8cups is 1/2 cup plus 2 Tablespoons. (I used my cookie scooper and the frist batch came out puffy didn't spread much, doughie on the inside. So I pressed the next batch with the palm of my hand and it came out like a cookie.I was thinking about drizzling white chocolate over the cookie for a new look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I have made this recipe several times and it is one of my favorites! Everyone loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 596) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Hootycreeks

Give cranberry hootycreeks as a memorable gift of "cookies in a jar."

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States