Country Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I tried this recipe it was wonderful. I used allspice as well as cinnamon and i used less sugar. Also, pressed raisins into dough before apples. I used good size chunks of apple and thought that it would be too big but once cooked it was fine. I did cook it longer than quoted and basted it with the sauce once near the end. Next time I would use less sugar and butter. I am going to try the 1/2 sugar and 1/2 splenda.I never had apple dumplings before so had nothing to compare. my husband suggested them for Xmas dessert because he loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I just made this for the first time last week for Thanksgiving. I was really scared/skeptical because of the mountain dew and store bough crescent rolls. I did substitute with sprite and cut the sugar and butter in half (my family does not like overly sweet desserts), and baked the crescents without the butter sugar mixture and sprite for the first 10-12 minutes, as recommended by other users to keep the dumplings from being too sweet or soggy. Then made sure to pour the sprite in the cracks and not directly over the dumplings. The whole family was surprised at how good it was! We will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Holy Moly these are sooo good! :) I used what I had in the fruit bowl, granny smith and jonathan style, lined them up side by side and couldn't taste/see a difference much. It's all good! I would recommend to not freak out with all the liquid in the pan before baking, it gets all soaked up just fine during baking! Give this a try..your family will love and doubt there will be leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beebop75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Valley, Florida, USA
Living In: Maryville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I work at a hospital, and we made this recipe for our Joint Commission surveyors. It was such a hit! One of the doctors, a very subdued man who rarely compliments anything, declared that it was the best thing he had ever put in his mouth! After that, I made it for a pitch-in, and twice on Thanksgiving (2 different dinners), and each time, people have gone on and on about how great it is! Everyone wants the recipe, and they can't believe how easy it is! Honestly, if you knew what an awful cook I am, you'd understand how great this recipe is if even I can't screw it up! LOL! I did reduce the sugar to 1 cup (could probably still use less, it's very rich), sprinkled the cinnamon on top rather than mixing it in with the sugar/butter sauce, and I used an apple corer-slicer-peeler before I cut the apples into eighths (I'm way too lazy to slice, core, & peel apples by hand).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Ok, so I was amazed. The way it is written is perfect. The flavor is awesome. The only thing I am going to work on is getting the bottom not to be so wet and doughy. Maybe next time I will try turning them after half the baking time. But a great recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niles, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
So easy, yet so good! I worried they might be too soggy based on some of the reviews, but that was not the case. We all loved it, including three picky children. I served them warm with ice cream. Perfect desert! I think this would be a great cooking opportunity to include my kids. They would love wrapping them in the crescent rolls. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Oh my, so simple to make, and way more yummy then I expected!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This is such a simple recipe to prepare, but anyone you serve it to will be impressed. I topped mine with a little fresh, lightly sweetened whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Toooo sweet!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
OMG this was a hit - I did it with Ginger Ale instead and it was delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 2,057) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States