Country Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I made this for a Thanksgiving gathering and it was gone in a flash! People were hunting me down to tell me how much they loved it. Definitely a keeper and I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
excellent base. I followed the directions and then added more stuff. cinnamon, vanilla and nutmeg. I also diced some pecans and added them to DICED apples. the redi-whipped loved these too. such a great way to wake your kids up with the smell of these in the house. truly outstanding, one of the best recipes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Photo by birdluv4ever
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
These were amazing! For the best taste, serve them hot! Also good with whipped cream or ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by birdluv4ever

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Amazingly delicious dessert for not a lot of effort. Appreciated the comments for coating the apple in cinnamon sugar before wrapping in pastry; using 2 parts white sugar to 1 part brown; and the tip to let the butter and sugars simmer until it pulls from the sides of the pan before adding cinnamon and vanilla. Next time I plan on using ginger beer in place of Mountain Dew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GELOGENIC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Great! I reduced sugar to 1/2c white and 1/4c light brown, used 1/2tsp apple pie spice instead of cinnamon, and 1 tsp vanilla. I only used 4oz Mt. Dew and poured around the dumplings. Also left the skins on and used Crisp apples which I first coated in the sugar mix. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This recipe is wonderful. I made it exactly as written except cut in half, in a square baking dish. It's important to not put this in a baking dish that's too large, it needs to cook in the sauce. And vanilla ice cream on top is a must!!! My husband said it was very "gourmet". :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallmadge, Ohio, USA
Living In: Copley, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
These were really good but very sweet. I will def make again but will omit the soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I made this following the recipe exactly, but I found it to be way too sweet. Was great with vanilla ice cream and non of the syrup. Will make it again this cutting back on the sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
BEST EVER -- My husband works in an office of foodies and I'm making this for his holiday potluck. Based on other reviews, I used half brown sugar, and ginger ale because I always have some on hand. We have a prolific apple tree that bears huge Harrelsons so I cut large apple wedges, six per apple. It's hard to tell when these are done but next time I'll stick with 35 minutes at 375. Also definitely adding some chopped pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi Howell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I have made this many times in the past. I made it yesterday for work, everyone loved it. And one even ask for the recipie, so she could make it for Thanksgiving. That made me very proud. I will make it more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arkadelphia, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Venus, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 2,208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States