Country Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
UPDATE 2/14/15: Followed adjustments by Canadiancook: 1) coat the apples in cinnamon and sugar before wrapping 2) Use 2 parts white to 1 part brown sugar in the sauce. simmer until it makes a thick, rich caramel and pulls away from the side of the pot. then add 1 tsp. vanilla along with the cinnamon. I only made half a batch for the husband and myself...the dish was not as "soupy" as the first time I made it. I think boiling the sugar/butter mixture is the key. I found that using a cheaper crescent roll was not as good as Pillsbury brand; Pillsbury stretches nicely to cover the ends of the apples where the cheap brand did not. My Original Review: Easy and delicious...followed the recipe except for adding 1 tsp vanilla with the cinnamon to the butter/sugar mixture when it had thickened. Wow...RICH...but tasty! I would like to try it next time by reducing to: 3/4 cup butter, 3/4 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Excellent desert. I had so many comments on it I am very pleased with how it turned out and so easy. every one is shocked when I said there is mountain dew in it. Don't know why but it works
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
We loved this and have made it twice-- easy, tasty way to make apple pie for desert even on a night you don't have much time. My family smells it cooking and comes out to the kitchen to see what's up!! Thanks for making a noncook look like I know what I am doing in the kitchen! I cut the recipe in half and only use one tube of crescent rolls. Plenty for a family of four with a small scoop of vanilla icecream placed on the side. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aleida Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I loved these. I used ginger ale instead of mountain dew because I do not like mountain dew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This is the best thing I've ever made. And I've made some pretty badass desserts......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Peridotgirl821
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
My grandmother made this dish for Christmas and I had never tried them. Well let me to you. I made it at home and it was amazing and easy. Definitely recommend this dessert for something quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bonita01/17
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I tried the recipe but without the Mountain Dew and it tasted wonderful.. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This recipe was incredibly easy and I have to say they were pure heaven. Everyone in my family loved them and it looks like I will be making them again VERY soon for an event. I have to say the reheat very well but are best served fresh and hot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Great recipe delicious!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by we be grubbin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Waaaayyyyyy to sweet. My family liked the basic flavor but next time I will cut some of the sugar out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Marin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 2,215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States