Country Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
These are delicious! They are fool proof and are always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I love these! I also have made them many different ways: all brown sugar (works great), All splenda and diet mt dew (nobody noticed the difference!), reduced fat or not on crescent roll (tasty either way). The big difference I did notice is if you use non-brand name crescents they tend to be smaller and harder to wrap/close around the apple! (they rip easier) also not as puffy! (not a taste difference). We also took caramel sauce (Ice cream sauce) and put a drizzle on the crescent rolls before we wrapped/closed the aopple in them...YUMMY!!! I am going to try putting peanut butter in instead of the caramel this week! The only other thing I have done is use pumpkin pie spice and/or apple pie spice instead and/or with the ground cinnamon! will always be using all three!! About 1/2tsp each. depending on what you like, would not do any more then tbsp TOTAL. 3tsp=1tbsp It tends to get to be too much and lose the apple taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This is ridiculously delicious! I have made it three times in one week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
M M M M M M!!! Super easy, super fast, and delicious! Tastes like a great apple pie. Made this for a group of men and they all wanted seconds! One said the best dessert they ever had! Would be absolute perfection with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Great, but instead I used Squirt. That was better and also, I used red delicious. That turned out better then expected. Hope this works out for you :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
It was a big hit. I did things a bit different also. I cut the apple wedges smaller which left some leftover apple pieces. Just before adding the Mountain Due and putting it into the oven, I chopped the remaining apple pieces and sprinkled over the top. This gave the sauce the same apple flavor. As suggested in another post, I also added nutmeg and a generous teaspoon of vanilla I served it with ice cream that night; the next morning my co-workers enjoyed it with their coffee. I made a double recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This recipe is fabulous! Everyone I have served it to loved it. My husband wants me to fix this every few days, but can't because he is diabetic. I, like the others, have used 1/2 splenda in place of 1/2 the sugar and diet 7up in place of the mountain due. Thanks for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
The dumplings float in the liquid, so the bottom of the crescent rolls were gooey. The apples weren't cooked and the odd raw and gooey crescent rolls with the crunchy apples made a very unpleasant combination in my mouth. My two boys, who *live* for cinnamon rolls, were very excited to see the ingredients sitting on the counter, especially the Mountain Dew, which is usually not allowed. They couldn't wait to try these. Whenever I try a new recipe, I always tell them "Tell me the truth, or you'll get it again!" They were very quiet while eating them and didn't go back for seconds! That told me all I needed to know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I too made some adjustments to the recipe. I cooked down the butter, sugar & cinnamon until it had an amber, caramel color. It was like hot molten lava but clung to and covered the crescent covered apple slices. I poured the mountain dew around NOT on the dumplings. I had halved the recipe which calls for 12 oz of Mountain Dew - I used 8 oz. There was still way too much sauce after baking which tends to make the bottom crust soggy, so next time, I'll only use 1/2 cup of mountain dew. With vanilla ice cream on the side it's delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
These are great. If you don't mind a few extra calories use the Pepperidge Farms Honey Flakey Croissants. They rise higher and are larger than the standard croissants. Super. You can also reduce the sugar and substitute a little maple syrup for a different taste. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 2,082) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States