Country Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
So delicious!! Served with vanilla bean ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I just have a question. I am wondering what purpose the soda plays in this recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
This is indeed a great recipe that I also have been making for years. My recipe from 2008 calls for 1 cup sugar,1/3 cup butter and 3/4 cup mountain dew. I have played with this many times and it is very forgiving. I usually halve it so I won't eat so many and I prefer more apple in each. I have used low fat crescents and diet soda and it was fine. This is a keeper as you can make a small dessert with one apple if necessary and one crescent. It also works if the soda has gone flat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
This is delicious and EVERYBODY likes it. My son-in-law asks me to make it every time they have dinner with us! I agree with others that there is a boat load of calories so I too made adjustments - and no one even noticed! I tend to think the apple wedge should be bigger than most apples yeild when you cut them in 8ths so I use "chunks" that are about an inch and a half thick. SMaller chunks tend to disintegrate when baking leaving very little apple to taste! I use 1 and 1/3 sticks of butter and one cup of sugar AND I use diet Sundrop (cause that is my soda of choice for drinking, so I have it on hand)and I use 16 oz of the soda to make more sauce! I have found that 400 degrees browns the tops too much so I bake at 375 for 45-48 minutes and they are perfect. Not sure how many calories I save but any adjustment helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perry, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
A friend gave me this recipe a few years back. It is fabulous!! We cook this on a regular basis when we are camping and use a dutch oven over the fire....the aroma makes all the other campers drool with envy (we do share IF there is any left!) This recipe is perfect as is...after all, it's dessert. Thanks to Christina B for the suggestion to use peaches! Next camping trip, we will be trying this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lori
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
We use more fruit - 1/2 a small peach (our fave) or 1/4 a large apple), so you have to stretch the roll a bit, but the fruit doesn't have to be completely covered for this recipe to work. That gives it a little higher fruit-to-roll ratio, which we like. Also, any citrus soda works. Easy to make a half (or 1/4) recipe, so you don't eat everything all at once, which IS a SERIOUS temptation. Consider making 1/2 the can of crescent rolls for dinner and use the other half for dessert. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Sparkrecipes.com has a recipe calculator for calories of your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
OH MY GOODNESS is right!! To easy, fast and tasty*****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
You should rely on your good sense while making this. 1 1/2 cups of sugar is TOO MUCH!!! 1 cup of butter is TOO MUCH. Halve the amount of sugar and butter without any regret. It would be even better with homemade pie dough and lemonade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valeria

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 2,141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States