Country Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by mstlaurent
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
IMPORTANT TIPS! I just made this tonight and let me tell you it is VERY liquidy. I made this exactly as the recipe calls for, and I would absolutely recommend using a bigger baking dish, even better if you have a TALL 9x13, I promise this will save your life! The liquid boiled over the sides and dripped into my oven causing smoke everywhere, and there was a lot of liquid left at the end. Please look at my picture to see. But don't let this steer you away, they taste really good. But a high baking dish is KEY. I took half the dumplings out of my pan and left half in so you can see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
To start with I tossed the apples in cinnamon/sugar to give them more flavor I reduced sugar to one cup and used brown and white sugar and only one cube of butter. I only used half a can of soda which I poured around the dumplings instead of over to avoid their getting soggy. I brought them to a Ladies Luncheon today and the women all said they were amazing! This simple recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
So delicious! I made it to a T except added extra cinnamon. It was pretty simple too! My family loved including the little ones. Next time, will make for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
This was a huge hit at our house. Will be making again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Wow so easy and good. I added vanilla and used part brown sugar as several folks suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
These are awesome, but it needs more apple. When I make it again, I'm going to use a quarter of an apple in each. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Easy, quick and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Incredible. I used half white sugar half dark brown because i was running low. A family hit! We will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I followed the exact recipe. It was overwhelmingly sweet and soggy:( I had to pour at least a cup of the syrup off after it was baked. I think I would follow the modifications others made and decrease the sugar and butter. (I like sweet-but this is just too much) I don't know why I had so much liquid left either?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ohiocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
This recipe was fantastic! Simple, easy and great! I used two tsp of the sugar/cinnamon (adding a 1/2 tsp of salt) to flavor the cut apples before rolling. Don't have Mountain Dew so used Goose Island Spicy Ginger Ale--yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 2,182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States