Country Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This recipe is wonderful. I made it exactly as written except cut in half, in a square baking dish. It's important to not put this in a baking dish that's too large, it needs to cook in the sauce. And vanilla ice cream on top is a must!!! My husband said it was very "gourmet". :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallmadge, Ohio, USA
Living In: Copley, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
These were really good but very sweet. I will def make again but will omit the soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I made this following the recipe exactly, but I found it to be way too sweet. Was great with vanilla ice cream and non of the syrup. Will make it again this cutting back on the sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
BEST EVER -- My husband works in an office of foodies and I'm making this for his holiday potluck. Based on other reviews, I used half brown sugar, and ginger ale because I always have some on hand. We have a prolific apple tree that bears huge Harrelsons so I cut large apple wedges, six per apple. It's hard to tell when these are done but next time I'll stick with 35 minutes at 375. Also definitely adding some chopped pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi Howell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I have made this many times in the past. I made it yesterday for work, everyone loved it. And one even ask for the recipie, so she could make it for Thanksgiving. That made me very proud. I will make it more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arkadelphia, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Venus, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Easy as can be and so good. According to Weight watchers it is a point per slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Epps

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Since it was just for two of us I halved the recipe as others have done. The only changes that I made were to use 1/4 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 cup of white sugar and I added 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla to the sauce. I also sprinkled a little cinnamon sugar on the apples before wrapping them. They were very easy to make, smelled heavenly while baking, and my husband thought they were amazing. To me they were a touch too rich and sweet for my taste. I will definitely make them again, but next time I will try cutting back a little on the sugar.....maybe using Splenda in the place of the white sugar. I think that serving it with vanilla ice cream or whipping cream would probably also help cut the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
SERIOUSLY delicious!!! I'm going to turn into an apple dumpling, I can't stop making them OR eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
This recipe is awesome, I have passed in all around my family, and it has been a huge hit with everyone that has tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by arsie
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Fast and easy. Made mini dumplings by cutting crescent rolls in half. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 2,194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States