Country Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I had a blast with this recipe. I've been craving something like this and FINALLY SUCCESS! I wanted to follow the recipe EXACTLY as written but when reaching for the cinnamon I realized I had "apple pie spice" so I used that instead. Also, I used Sprite instead of Mountain Dew just because I've never really been a fan of that soda. After serving it I did have to pour out some of the liquid. I was afraid it would make the leftovers soggy and mush. Day 2 it was just as good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pugariffic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Excellent! My mother tried these first and I have to say I didn't believe her when she told me how great these were. I will have to think twice before making another apple pie for a holiday. These are easier to make and better tasting. Everyone in the house loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCMMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garnet Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Have made this at least 10 times in the last few months. My family loves it. I've learned a couple of things. It really tastes better with just 1 cup of sugar. You get more flavor of the apple and cinnamon and not just way sweet. The other thing is when making a large amount for a crowd if you place them tight together the liquid/steam cannot escape and reduce down to a nice sauce. Also the dough will not "cook". You absolutely do not want to overcrowd the pan. All that said it's a really easy fun dish that will impress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Came out perfectly without any alterations. My guests all raved and asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
The family just loved these. My husband said not to change thing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I made this while my sister was in town and thought it was just ok. Very easy to make, but it could use a little help. If I make this again, I would add additional seasonings to the cinnamon/sugar (nutmeg and cardamom) & dice up additional apples to put in the bottom of the pan to create a nice apple sauce to spoon over the dumplings. I would also top with candied pecans or almonds to give a bit more texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snsyum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This was great and simple to make!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
These are awesome! VERY hard to eat just one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Truly fantastic. Incredibly easy and quick to prepare. I made some of them with sprinkling cinnamon sugar on the apples before wrapping and some of them without. The ones with the cinnamon sugar on the apples were tastier but both were very good and a big hit! Thank you for a great recipe! Will most definitely be making these again! Update: Made these again this evening. I cut down on the soda this time, decreased the butter so the sugar/brown sugar mixture was a bit thicker. They were perfect...not soggy on the bottom at all. My daughter says, "These are like a treat for the gods!". So scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Wow! Super rich and yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 2,058) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States