Cottage Cheese Chicken Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Made this tonight and it was a Winner! I used Las Palmas enchilada red sauce and a roasted chicken from Costco. Two teenagers (male and a female) BIG hit! We got 8 servings, probably because I used more than the equivalent of 2 chicken breasts. Left overs - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I used green chile sauce for a little heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This is an excellent enchilada recipe! The cheese mix is superb, the mix on ingredients is great as it stands. I always add my own spin on things, and this was no exception. I put in one small bunch cilantro and added it during the taco seasoning addition/cook. I also did pepper jack inside each enchilada, and used a 12 oz. block of Monterey for the shredded cheese that went over each layer of enchiladas (I did two 8" x 8" baking pans so the in-laws could have some) and covered the bottom layer with sauce and cheese, and the top as well. Where I really went off track was in adding some hominy. I fried it to get some color and texture, scraped the burnt pieces from the cast iron pan and mixed them in (awesome!) and added it to the taco seasoning cook also. The mix settled nicely as I heated the tortillas and then I plopped on a pile to each of TWENTY (instead of 12, since there was more filling... could have used twenty four) 6" tortillas. Each layer of five was covered with sauce and cheese, two layers per pan. This recipe is golden! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaitiura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Granada, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
We added black beans too. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I'm not an experienced cook, but this recipe turned out so good! After reading a few reviews, I tweaked it a little. Instead of using canned enchilada sauce I followed Mrs Espy's Enchilada Sauce (also found on this site). It turned out way better than I expected! Another tip, add about 2 cups of shredded monterey jack cheese to the cottage cheese and sour cream filling. It gives it an extra boost! Enjoy!!!! Also, when the taco seasoning mix pack says to add water, use chicken broth! It adds such an amazing flavor and moustire to the chicken!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daniellewisinski
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
My boyfriend made this dinner for me when I came home from a long day at work. It turned out really well! He decided to use flour tortillas tough. The leftovers were even better the second day! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daniellewisinski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I loved this recipe, my family enjoyed it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
We love this recipe! We always substitute plain Greek yogurt for the sour cream and it works well. We also have substituted crock pot pork for the chicken which is a nice variation. My husband especially loves and requests this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This recipe is no good. While the filling is yummy when you leave out the taco seasoning and do some tweaking with garlic, the enchilada sauce throws everything off. The combination simply does not work. You'll notice other reviewers on here have also found this to be true.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Ehhhh, I had high hopes for this. Maybe my brand of enchilada sauce was no good?I like cottage cheese but it just didn't do it for me. No one in my family of 4 just loved it. I even made a second to freeze because I was sure it was going to be great. I'm from Texas and to me nothing compares to Tex-Mex. This was lacking in flavor and richness. The cottage cheese/sour cream mixture didn't float my boat. Eadible but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,017) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Enchiladas I

See how to make delicious chicken enchiladas the easy way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States