Corned Beef Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I don't understand the high rating for this dish ~ I followed the recipe exactly and it was a pile of mush in the skillet when the diced potatoes were cooked and the moisture had evaporated... the only flavour was salty corned beef .. nasty! It would have been better if the potatoes were partially cooked separately, then seared in a skillet with a chopped onion and the corned beef ~ omitting the liquid altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Just the recipe I was looking for! Used leftover corned beef from the slow-cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage recipe on this site and used red potatoes. Next time will try yukon gold potatoes and cabbage to mimic a recipe from a favorite local breakfast place. Kids liked it so much I went and bought two more corned beef briskest to out in the freezer. A new favorite in our house. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
AMAZING! Granted, I made some alterations, but the recipe, as written, is a great jumping off point. First, I used leftover corned beef brisket (approx. 11 oz.), 2 medium red potatoes, 1 medium yellow onion, the cooking liquid from the corned beef, and a little beef bouillon (Better Than Bouillon, which comes in a jar, actually). I cubed the potatoes into 1/4" pieces, did the same with the onion, tossed them into a large skillet in a single layer, spooned in a little less than a tsp. of bouillon, and added enough liquid to cover them. Next, I chopped up the corned beef EXTREMELY finely - the beauty of this recipe is that it isn't hard and dry like other recipes tend to be, and part of keeping it so nice and moist is that the pieces of meat need to be tiny without being meat-paste so that they can really soften up in the cooking liquid. After the meat was chopped, it was added to the pan and everything was covered with the lid. Cranked the heat up to bring to a boil, then reduced to a medium heat for 10-15 minutes, 'til the potatoes were soft. The next part is crucial for getting a really amazing crust on your hash if you plan on frying it up. You must STIR the mixture rather vigorously until the potato cubes no longer have corners (don't mash them, just literally stir until they release some of their starch into the remaining liquid). Boil off the remaining liquid with the lid off, then start another pan over heat and fry 'til crispy and brown. Top with an egg over easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Chow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Very tasty for an easy meal using leftover corned beef. I made it as stated but did use only 5 small-med potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Great made with leftover corned beef brisket. Did not need extra broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Too many potatoes, not enough onion. Other than that, a quick and easy way to use left over corned beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Don

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
VERY TASTY, WILL MAKE IT AGAIN NEXT TIME I COOK A CORNED BEEF.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Chateauguay, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Great recipe! My husband is a meat lover so I used 5 potatoes and 2 cans of corn beef. I also used 1- 1/2 cans of broth. Little salt and pepper. It came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Very good and easy. Great way to use up the leftover boiled corned beef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I never made this before, but husband always orders it at the diner so I thought I'd give it a try. Used up the leftovers from St. Pat's Day dinner. I guess it was a winner because he and the kids demolished the entire pan (even the one who didn't "like" corned beef the day before, lol). Simple, tasty, fast, filled the hungry bellies - so what more could I ask?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

How to Make Corned Beef Hash

See how to make corned beef hash with the perfect crispy crust.

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States