Cornbread Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I made this recipe last night and made a few changes. I used Splenda instead of the sugar and for half of the mixture I added asiago cheese and a fresh diced jalapeno. I brought them to work to share with my friends and they said it was the best cornbread they ever had and demanded the recipe. Next time I will make half of the recipe without the corn because my 8 year old wasn't fond of the corn. Serious comfort food here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I omitted the sugar, added just a little bit of maple syrup, soaked the cornmeal in milk as some other reviewers recommended, and substituted applesauce and a little sunflower oil for the butter since we're low on butter right now. To thaw the frozen corn, I let the kernels sit in warm water while I mixed up the other ingredients and it ended up looking basically the same as canned corn, only without the BPAs from the can! I also used more cornmeal than the original called for, about half cornmeal, a fourth white flour, a fourth whole wheat flour. Turned out really well. The original recipe plus the reviewers' comments and a little innovation combined quite well! Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
YUMMY, I think one of the best! After eating 3 muffins I looked at the calories. YIKES!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
These are excellent-definitely more of a corncake/muffin so it's sweeter. I have a sweet tooth but these didn't need any more sweetener than they have. Very good with chili!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMHMC

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
These were delicious! I used 1 cup of cornmeal and 1 1/4 cup of flour instead and added 1/2 cup of dried cranberries (soaked in water first to plump them up) instead of corn kernels. These are perfectly moist and so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Delicious! Very moist! I made in a glass pie pan and cooked for 25 minutes...perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I made these, but did not have any honey and they turned out well! My family thought it was different, but enjoyed them. I got a request to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Delicious muffins! I substituted the butter with applesauce and all I can say is "WOW".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dynamic Angel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I made these muffins with a slight adjustment and my husband (an avid corn muffin eater) said they were the best he's ever had. I didn't have any honey, so I subbed in molasses, which gives a really nice rich flavor and a moist dense muffin! Thanks a lot for the recipe, I've been searching for a good one for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
sooo yummy. the easiest most delicious muffins!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVEYLU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Woking, Surrey, England, U.K.

Displaying results 61-70 (of 437) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States