Cornbread Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Flavor was okay but were a bit hard and dry... easy recipe to modify to your liking however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Tried the corn muffins today. They were every bit as good as the positive reviews claim. I used canned corn (the same amount as called for with the frozen). Also borrowed another reviewer's tip and pulsed the corn a few times in a mini food processor before adding. One other thing, I sifted the flour and used the same measure but of sifted. Yes they were sweet, deliciously sweet and moist. Just scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I am giving this 5 stars, but just a heads up I made these with 3/4 cup buttermilk instead of the 1/2 cup milk - I just have a thing for using buttermilk with corn muffins. I also used canned corn as opposed to frozen at the recommendation of others and it came out great. These are definitely sweeter corn muffins than I am used to, but I loved them anyway. I scooped the normal amount of batter I use for cupcakes/muffins but was left with very short muffins as they didn't rise much if at all (but it DID give me more than 12). They were super moist though, and when I simply added more batter per cup they were perfect. Next time I'll try adding a bit more baking soda to account for the buttermilk and also dividing the batter evenly between 12 (and only 12) muffin cups. Overall a sweet, VERY moist, delicious corn muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This is a moist, dense, sweet treat. It is more cake like than either cornbread or a corn muffin. No butter or honey is needed to enjoy this muffin. It was a perfect accompaniment to both chili and a salad lunch. Thanks, Lisa K.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Made these with Bob's Gluten Free All Purpose Flour, they were delicious. Although, I would agree that they are a bit sweet and would probably cut the sugar back to 1/2 C. Were very moist and had great texture! Will definitely make these again. (making 150 for my cousin's wedding, why I used gluten free:) )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Very moist and fluffy, certainly not rustic, so I'd go with this recipe if you're looking for a sweeter cornbread. I used canned corn instead of frozen. My one criticism is that some of the bigger bits of cornmeal didn't soften that much, they were pretty crunchy. But that could have been the brand/type of cornmeal I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
I liked the taste but they were more dessert than savory cornbread which is what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
flavorful but dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Great taste!! They are a tad dense, but that's okay for chili. I used Canola oil instead of butter, omitted the honey, added a Tsp vanilla, and reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup (but 2/3 is fine I'm sure.) Plus I only had to cook them half the time in a conventional oven. They POPPED right up like popovers do! Cute :) I remembered to thaw the frozen corn first, so I didn't have a problem with the kernel texture. The point is that a home-cook could tweak the recipe and it still turns out delicious! Yumitty Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
These are moist and sweet. Family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 21-30 (of 445) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Zucchini-Chocolate Chip Muffins

Try these delicious zucchini muffins studded with chocolate chips.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States