Cornbread Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Made this gluten free! I did not add the corn. I used sweet rice flour, gluten free corn meal and 1/2 tsp of xantham gum (since it is gluten free) and a ratio of 2:1 cream of tartar to baking soda for gluten free baking powder. I thought I was out of gluten free cornbread mix until I was halfway through mixing this recipe up. Turns out this is way better then the mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy L. Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
The best basic one...I made changes so not really a fair rating....changed the butter to lard...I prefer lard when making savoury...I added whole chopped jalepeno and some jarred red pepper and real corn...not frozen. AND cause it was savoury I used sour cream instead of honey....still need the white stuff though. AND then I made 30 mini muffins....they were great. But I have been cooking a LONG time so understand where changes can be made. But dang they turned out good. Oh and 10/12 minutes in 350'....check at ten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I've made this recipes about 6 times. The first time I followed the instructions exactly with the exception of using 3/4 canned corn kernels instead of frozen. They were perfect. The second time, I followed some of the reviewers recommendations. I reduced the sugar by half, and used the entire 15.25 oz can of corn, drained. The extra corn worked out perfectly, but I prefer the recommended amount of sugar in the original recipe. My favorite way to make these muffins: follow recipe exactly with exception of using an entire can of corn. Make mini muffins adding large slices of all beef hotdogs to each muffin. Bake at 375 for 18 minutes. I've had to start doubling the recipe because my teenagers and husband devour these. They are so much better than the processed corn dogs bought at the supermarket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyMom
Home Town: Rigby, Idaho, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Pretty good except they were way too sweet even for someone who likes sweet. Instead of 2/3 sugar perhaps only use 1/3 cup, keeping the honey at a scant 1/4 cup. I used cream instead of milk, 1 cup canned corn as others suggested and they were good, though what Southerners might call "Yankee style". I used Nora Mill Granery yellow spectacled grits, rather large grained, and I think if you use fine grained corn meal these may be too dry. Not sure why this is not clearly explained in corn bread recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
First time trying cornbread from scratch. I did add a bit more corn than the prescribed amount, and had to substitute honey with a bit more water and sugar. The muffins looked perfect (my kids dug in so quickly, I didn't have the chance to even take a picture), and I loved the flavor and cake like texture. Will definitely do it again. Maybe using honey next time. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Tried this recipe once... it was way too moist almost gelatinous. Very dense. Not to my taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This was my second time making cornbread from scratch and I must say, this recipe was OUTSTANDING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I added 1/2 can of diced mild chiles and 1/2 c shredded parm and they were amazing. I made 16 muffins and baked them for 15 min. They were a little sweet. I would cut the sugar back to 1/2 c.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
excellent muffins! Have made them twice already this month. They heat up very well in the microwave. DH took them to his "man weekend" and had them with chili. Everyone loved them. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Made these tonight with pot of beans and ham. Perfect! Turned out moist and delicous. I'll admit I've ever put much effort into cornbread but I do believe I will be retiring the box mix after this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick Getz

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 445) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Zucchini-Chocolate Chip Muffins

Try these delicious zucchini muffins studded with chocolate chips.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States