Corn Tortilla Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
I am rating the baking version of this recipe as I have never tried deep frying the chips. My alterations are as follows: I stack and cut the corn tortillas in 6 wedges and arrange them on a non-stick baking sheet. Then I spritz unsweetened lime juice over them. Next comes a spray of Olive Oil Pam right over the top. Lastly, I lightly salt them. Then into the oven they go at 350 for 20 minutes. I rarely buy tortilla chips anymore as they are full of salt, preservatives and fat. These are much healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skylittle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
OMG...I will never buy tortilla chips again! I love these and you can season however your heart desires.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
Thanks for posting this, I didn't know what temperature my oil needed to be at. Off to make a botana(Michigan version)with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lithia Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I saw someone else’s comment about topping the fried chips with cinnamon and sugar and that just really got my mind going! It made me think of sopapillas the Hispanic fried dough dessert so I sprinkled mine with the cinnamon sugar mixture, drizzled with honey and chocolate syrup put a scoop of vanilla ice cream on them and some sliced almonds, it was sinfully delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Chester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
I found them plain, but my fiance LOVED them, couldn't stop eating them. THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
very tasty. I took others advice and sprayed with Pam cooking spray and it helped take away some of the dryness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TGREEN6755

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dolton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
These were tasty, really simple and easy, although lacking flavour. Had to douse them in lime juice, which enhanced them and made them even better. However, I no longer need to buy tortilla chips from the package.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I love tortilla chips with no salt on them but you cant find them at the store, this was the perfect solution. So easy and so good. Taste like I got them in Mexico. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I make these when I am 'in a pinch' and out of store bought chips, but for me it is honestly not worth the time vs. opening a bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
This is so easy and good. I love having the chips warm and I can salt them or not to my likeness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chips

See how to make healthy, homemade chips in the microwave.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Pita Chips

Homemade pita chips have a warm, crunchy snap you just can’t get from the bag.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States