Corn Tortilla Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I'm more for healthier eating. I baked these at the recommend 425 degrees F. until crisp. I have always hated throwing away the last of my tortillas. Now I have my 2 1/2 and 5 year old use a pizza cutter and make chips as a snack for themselves. Thanks for posting this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This is FANTASTIC. I know some people say it isn't a recipe, it is an idea, but I think its a great idea! I used super low carb, low calorie wraps, and it worked great. I baked one batch and fried the other in Canola Oil. The baked batch was terrible (probably because of the type of tortilla I was using), but the fried batch was great. Even fried these are still much healthier than store-bought chips b/c you can use low calorie low carb kind. Thanks for the great idea/recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
These were delicious! I cut up the tortillas, then layed flat on a baking sheet and sprayed each side with smart balance spray (for the illusion of healthiness :P). i added salt to one side, and baked for about 12 minutes, and didn't even have to turn over. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Yumm! There is nothing like frying some fresh corn tortilla chips in oil! I put a lot of salt on mine while warm! Maybe not as healthy but much better tasting than baked if you ask me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
PERFECT! I made salsa this afternoon and had no corn chips. When I found some tortillas, I knew a recipe search was the answer. These chips turned out perfect. I couldn't have asked for better. Thank you Kirstin for sharing such an easy, simple recipe that's PERFECT! I will be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
We absolutely devoured these chips. For our tex-mex dinner tonight, I fried the chips before preparing the refried beans, corn and rice, etc. But these were so good that I decided to just make nachos. I used only 3 cups of oil and added a little garlic powder as suggested by another reviewer. We will make these again and again - no more store chips : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
Amazing! You really appreciate the taste of homemade tortilla chips (versus store bought) when you make them fresh. I sprinkled them with popcorn salt instead of table sat. I also made some tostadas using whole tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
A rather "standard" recipe, however, you can lift it up to a higher level by mixing a cup of lime juice with a 1/4 cup of salt and lightly brushing the chips before frying, allow chips to dry a few minutes on toweling before dunking into the fryer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
I never buy tortilla chips anymore. After deep frying, I salt and sprinkle on a little garlic powder. Just like in the restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stellamojo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Used way less oil and fried and small batches. These were amazing with the "Guacamole" recipe on this site. My kids and hubby devoured them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Tortilla Chips

Homemade tortilla chips with cumin and lime juice.

How to Make Homemade Chips

See how to make healthy, homemade chips in the microwave.

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States