Cod Fish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
This was yummy. I followed the advice of several other reviewers (added additional spice, flour) to start. used sweet potato, because I had those on hand. The mix was a bit sticky. Used a light coating of flour which made it better to form into cakes. The family liked it overall, hubby and I both thought it could use a sauce, a little spicy kick.... Definitely thought refrigerating may help as others suggested. I saved some to fry up for dinner tomorrow in the fridge. Overall great recipie, will try again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Needs some salt or garlic salt, maybe some Old Bay and more fish, less potato. As written it just tasted like the potatoes. Kind of blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Reale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
As a childminder it was a tasty quick recipe to use. Suits children of all ages from babies onwards. Will certainly use it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
These are the best. I didn't fry on the stove though. My husband suggested that we try deep frying them. Perfect. Rolled them in bread crumbs and dropped them in until they were golden brown. We'll try again soon experimenting with other seasoning ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coldwater, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
So easy! Especially adding the fish to the potatoes. The grated onion adds a lovely depth. Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SalBelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
It was ok but it lacked flavor. It need salt, pepper, grated celery. It was alittle bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Too much potato
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Very tasty! Possibly the best recipe I've tried on this site. And so simple. This will be a regular dish in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Great tasting; I followed NESMAR's advice in his/her review, which I believe was extremely helpful in improving this great recipe (especially the tip to coat in seasoned flour mixture before frying (white flour, seasoning salt, black pepper and paprika); good advice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon Beckham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Fort Meade, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I made this tonight, and while the flavor was fine, it did need some additional seasoning. The biggest problem, however, is that it was nearly impossible to keep these from falling apart. They crumbled from the start, and again in flipping them. I'll try something else next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Merluzzo Cod Fish Pasta Puttanesca

See how to make healthy, flavorful cod fish puttanesca-style.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States