Coconut Ambrosia Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 23, 2008
everyone loved this! Very easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Marvelous Marshmallow MMM..... Great recipe. I did use real cream and like others, used instant pudding. It stablizes the cream very well. Definately double the recipe. It does keep well. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
was pretty good, but added a box of pasachio pudding!! yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I liked this recipe and rated it a 4 because I always add a 16 ounce tub of sourcream to my ambrosia. You can't go wrong with the fruit and whipped topping, but add some sourcream and you get the bold flavor of all of the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Utt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
AWESOME! Very simple to make. A coconut lovers dream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mililani, Hawaii, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
looking around for an ambrosia recipe and this one is the closest to my mamas. she's been making it for 30 years too and its still good! obviously you can play around with the fruit selection. i always ask for bananas. perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah ott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I would give this 4.5 if I could and it's a 5 with some modifications. I reduce the coconut to 1/2 cup and, like others, just use one tub of Cool Whip. I use 2 cans of mandarin oranges and the large can of crushed pineapple. I use 1/4c milk and 1/4c sour cream. I've made this for several gatherings and there are never any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This was excellent! The family gave it rave reviews. My daughter's boyfriend who doesn't like coconut, said this was very good, he had seconds. I used only 1 cup coconut and I also used a little of the cherry juice to color it. Other than those two adjustments, I followed the recipe completely. I did make it the night before, to allow the flavors to blend nicely in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Ballinger Januchowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This was excellent. I've made it three times now, and it's been great!!! The first time I made it by the book, but the next time, I made it with a small package with banana pudding mix in it, and it added a lot of flavor, as well as adding a can of fruit cocktail to add a better variety of fruit to it. It is a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy Finger

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I made (doubled) this for Christmas Eve, and based on others' reviews, added pistacio instant pudding mix and lowfat sour cream in place of milk. I omited the cherries and added strawberries and even left out the marshmallows. I added apples, red grapes, and pecans (toasted them, didn't work, they got soggy, but the coconut was nice toasted). Everyone liked it alot, but didn't taste the pudding flavor because I made the mistake of using a small package of sugar-free (& 1 regular), which was almost flavorless! I made it again already & this time used 2 small regular packs of the pudding mix and it became a beautiful light green and very flavorful! The best part is that the regular pudding has tiny pistacio bits in it (you don't really have to add nuts at all) which makes it divine!! You really can add any fruit, fresh or canned (2nd time I replaced crushed pineapple with a can of WELL-DRAINED Dole Tropical Mixed Fruit which has pineapple chunks. It was amazing!) I'm a coconut freak, but depending on how much other fruit I choose to add, I decide the amount of coconut I want to add at the end (at least a good cup so far). I also used all lite whipped topping & it was fabulous. threw in a banana. with or without marshmallows, woo-hoo! happy mixing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Coconut Calamari Salad

See how to make a spicy squid salad with coconut milk.

Instant Pistachio Salad

See how to make a simple dessert salad starring pistachio pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States