Coconut Ambrosia Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
It is a good quickie salad. It was a bit bland for me. I like my food to make a statement even if it is subtle. Second time around I added a chopped gala apple quickly dipped in lemon juice. Skipped the milk and used yogurt instead and I had some vanilla syrup and added a tbls. Also let the fruit sit in a strainer for 1/2 hour. Much better ambrosia salad offered a delicate sweet vanilla tone and a cooling tropical fling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
love this! it is so yummy and easy. Just remember to add the cherries right before serving and the whole thing will turn pink
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Excellent! I did cut back on the coconut, added raisins and walnuts for a nice crunch. I do plan on making again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodforthought
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This ambrosia is really good. I added less coconuts (only 1 cup) and please do not put milk in this ambrosia. It's not necessary. You don't want it to be runny! I give this recipe 4 stars because of the milk, however, mine would get a 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodforthought

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Sure fired winner!!!! Has become a Christmas dinner tradition. I like to add 1/2 cup chopped pecans. Thanks for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Canerdy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flat Rock, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This ambrosia is just like my mother used to make. I made it for Christmas day and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Family loved it and so did I. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Delicious. Although I don't use the milk. Instead I use some of the pineapple juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I altered this recipe. I used one cream cheese pack and 1/2 cup sour cream, used heavy whipping cream and the juices and blended. it was too liquidy with the "1/2" cup milk (which i used hwc) and it was simply too much of a measurement of liquid. The taste is great but i think i would have opted for less liquid and maybe actually would have used some of the frozen whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Very good but not quite "great." I would definitely add more mandarin oranges next time and use cream cheese to make it a bit creamer. Otherwise its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jace's_mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rogers, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Instant Pistachio Salad

See how to make a simple dessert salad starring pistachio pudding.

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States