Classic Fish and Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
This recipe works GREAT provided a few basic frying rules are adhered to: 1) DO NOT fry past the point when no air escapes the food. The minute steam stops coming out grease is getting in. 2) Keep finished pieces in a 250 degree oven until the last one is done, right before serving. The heat will keep the oil draining off and the batter crispy. 3) Make SURE the oil temperature is hot enough. The MINUTE the food goes in the oil loses a good 25-50 degrees worth of heat. A great candy/fry thermometer or digital thermister is key to keeping a constant oil temp, and adjusting as needed every time food goes in wll keep the results uniform and the food looking good. This batter is wonderful with beer instead of milk, or in addition to, and small pieces of fish fry more evenly than entire filets. Keep the basic frying rules in mind and it becomes quite simple to make crispy, NOT GREASY fish and chips with ease. The other quick tip I'd give is make SURE the food is good and cold, especially the potatoes, before trying to fry. That will help the them not become limp too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1592 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA
Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
Being that I am English, and grew up with outstanding Fish and Chips, it's not really surprising that homemade F&C rarely come close to hitting the mark. With regards to this recipe, the chips were quite good (make sure you cut them nice and chunky, not skinny little fries). The fish batter, however, wasn't good - bland and oily, and it turned mushy while the other pieces of fish were being cooked. I MUCH prefer the beer batter in the 'Fish Tacos' recipe submitted by Tanya; the batter is light, crispy, flavorful - exactly how it should be. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
707 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
To those all mentioning the soggy fish effect: Whatever liquid you use, be it water, beer, etc., it must be ICE COLD. That keeps the batter light & cooked fish will not get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
647 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
In order to make deep frying easier and turn out better is by 1)keep whatever you are battering chilled. Put chicken and potatoes in freezer for about 15 - 20 min just to chill. 2)batter needs to be cold as well. Put batter in fridge for the same duration and you will notice that the batter stays on and fries up better. Also, for better fried consistency, keep frying oil moving. When deep frying, move the fish and chips around in the oil. This will give you consistancy. Really great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
240 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
this was my first attempt at frying fish, and it turned out fantastic! my boyfriend and i often hit up pubs to get fish and chips, now we'll save money and make it at home. i followed the suggestions of freezing batter for 20 min, then refrigerating battered fish for 20 min, and it worked just fine. instead of frying the chips, i cut potatoes into wedges and tossed them with some olive oil and seasonings then cooked at 525 for 20-25 min for a somewhat healthier alternative to the frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Long ago I learned from a New Zealand woman to never ever use eggs and milk in a coating batter. Instead, I use cold water and a tablespoon vinegar. This makes fried batter much crispier than any other method, and has earned me compliments over the years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
This recipe turned out great! I added Old Bay Seasoning to the dry ingredients for a spicy kick. Other reviewers noted the fish was "greasy" -- fix this by using fresh canola or veg oil, and keep the temp above 325. Keep fried fish warm in a 200 oven to prevent sogginess. For the fries, drain on paper towels, then transfer to a pan or plate and cool to room temp before frying again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
Batter stayed on the fish well and crisped up nicely. The flavor was fine, but was missing something. Next time I'll add half milk and half beer. Other than that, this is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
I thought this was very good. I put the pieces that are done on a platter in the oven set at 200...this keeps them from getting soggy while I continue frying. I also had much batter left over to make onion rings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
This is the BEST fish & chips recipe ever! I use halibut fillets instead as it has both the texture and taste just like the ones served by our favourite fish & chips restaurant. I have passed on this recipe to family and friends and I would like to thank Dan for sharing his wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noriza Abdul Rahim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States