Classic Fish and Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2000
Very easy, I already had all the ingredients in my kitchen except for the fish. The only steps are mixing the batter and frying the fish. The leftovers can be fried again in oil and come out just as tasty as the first batch. Kids can help with the batter but not with the frying, the oil can spatter. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
This is a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2001
The batter was a little too runny and delicate for frying. I added 1/3 cup more of flour to make it thicker. Also, I think you can get away with only half the amount of salt. In fact, we found it too salty with the listed amount of salt. Lastly, a quarter cup of oil to fry with is not enough. You have to have more so the fillets can float a little bit and not get ruined at turning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
This turned out really great, and I am no good at all when it comes to cooking things in oil, but this turned out just how it was supposed to. :) Worked great for our St. Patricks day feast, everyone loved it. Fun to try with different fishes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2002
This is a good recipe if you are doing cafeteria-style supper, where each person takes his or her fish right from the fryer and eats it. If you wait until they're all fried to serve, the coating is already soggy. Tasty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
D.E.L.I.C.I.O.S. As my husband said, it's the best fish and chips he had - restaurant or no restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
Very authentic, tastes just like being in London.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
Best fish and chips I've ever made. So simple too. Reccommend using some Basa fish, or some nice thick pieces of halibut. Try it with onion slices and you'll get great onion rings. Total greasefest thought. Be prepared for feeling guilty. D.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
I followed one of the tips on this site that said to add some extra flour to make it thicker. It sort of makes it too thick, so I would advise that you not do this. A cup of flour should work fine. Otherwise this is a GREAT recipe, probably could do without so much pepper. I tasted the pepper overwhelmingly in the batter. Made with frozen cod and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
The fish was really good, better than any frozen breaded fish you can buy. The chips turned out so-so, but my family seemed to like them a lot. I had problems with draining them on the paper towels - they wanted to stick and were hard to get back off for the second frying. Previous reviewer, Dave, is right - this is not a dish you want to eat very often because it is so greasy. I measured out one qt. of oil for frying and then remeasured when I was done. I had used almost 1/2 of the oil. I can hear my arteries hardening! A great dish to have a few times a year, though. The batter goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States