Classic Fish and Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
I made this for my boyfriend - he loves fish and chips. I don't really fry food ever, and didn't have the right type of pan (electric,) so I just used a big pot and crossed my fingers! I also didn't have enough oil, so I used what I had (about 50% of what the recipe called for.) I put the heat on medium-high, having no idea what temperature that might result in. I changed the batter recipe a little by using 50% milk and 50% beer, and also sprinkled Paps seafood seasoning on the fish before putting into the batter. I served with homemade Tartar sauce (using Trader Joe's mayonnaise, which I won't use for everyday use, but use a lot when cooking because it's cheap, and seems to have a better cooking taste/consistency than Best Foods.) My boyfriend LOVED this meal. He said that it's better than the fish 'n chips he gets out on the coast (and, it's a lot less expensive!) Next time I'll cook it just a little bit longer, but otherwise it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I left my fish pieces too big so will have to cut them down next time. Also, I used a cup of Newcastle Brown Ale instead of milk in the batter per another user's suggestion and really liked the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANIELLE BEATTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I think this recipe would have been good, but I was so paranoid about overcooking the fish after reading the reviews about them getting soggy, that they got undercooked. Make sure you cook them thoroughly. The parts of the fish that were cooked tasted good! I may try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiegal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Very easy. I used Dover Sole and it turned out great. Even let my wife make the batter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Al

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
awesome! Add a bit of dill and sesame seeds for a nice taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Great recipe! I also added more flour to thicken up the batter. The fish came out perfect! Try this recipe it is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Love it. The only thing I added was seafood seasoning but kept the rest the same. Very good....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hannibal, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This was easy and delicious! I cooked it for dinner the other night and my husband and 3 year old loved it, my husband said it was the best fried fish he has ever had. I did add a pinch of garlic powder but even with out that I think it still would have been delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie
Home Town: Mount Laurel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I have been cooking for 50 years and have used many fish batter recipes but this was great and then I used some of the batter to make onion rings as there was some left and I added it to the fish and chips my husband,myself and my son loved it it is great and easy to make no no more boughten batter mixes. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States