Classic Fish and Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Batter stayed crispy because I followed the reviews of others and kept it cold before dipping the fish and frying. After each batch, I stuck in back in the fridge and the texture was great. The taste was ok - it could have used more seasoning/salt. I doused it in malt vinegar anyways. For the fries, I just oven baked them with olive oil, and Paula Deen's house seasoning (salt, pepper and garlic powder).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This was exellent and was even great reheated the next day. I took the advice of other reviewers and kept the potatoes, fish and batter very cold!!! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
good tasting fish, loved the flavor and it was a hit with my picky dad, husband, and mom. I tried baking the fish at first, but that was a bad idea. Stick to the frying. I baked the fries and they were good, but need some seasoning, maybe some Jonny's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I was very dissappointed in this recipe. I really wanted to like it...but it just wasn't very tasty. Having roots in New England, I've had much more flavorful fish & chips. The batter was bland...and the fish only tasted good when I drowned it in malt vinegar. Like I said, I really WANTED to like it but it just wasn't very good. :o(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Middleburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Batter was a little too thick but I thinned it out with some gingerale and added some garlic powder and it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Batter did not stay on...at all. I was forced to still serve it due to time constraints. Will never use again. Should have read the reviews first, but i was in a rush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZYJ212

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sharon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
My hubby just loved this, my 5 year old as well. Have made it twice and going for my third time tonight. It's authentic enough for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Oh my gosh this recipe is exactly what I was looking for! I used whole wheat flour instead of regular flour, and soy milk instead of regular milk. I added onion and garlic powder to the batter. I also seasoned the fries with It was soooo delicious. I am not a fan of fish so I used lean turkey breast instead. This recipe was great and I definitely will do this instead of ordering take out. Thank you so much for posting this I really loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary8810002

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: North Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Fantastic starter fish recipe. I have used it many times now and have never had an issue, always turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Carlson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States