Classic Fish and Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
This is a very good basic recipe for fish n chips style batter. Some of my children cannot have dairy, so we used 1/2 plain rice milk and 1/2 beer for the liquid in the batter. We had the oven on at 200 degrees (as suggested by others) and used paper towel-lined baking sheets in order to drain the excess grease and keep the fish warm. The first fish was crispy even after frying several batches before we ate it. We cut the raw cod into smaller pieces so they be about the size you'd have them served at a pub. We also fried shrimp (we used basic frozen pre-cooked cocktail shrimp, thawed under cool water) and onion rings. A double batch of the batter was enough to do enough cod, shrimp and onions for my hungry family of eight people, with some left over. I also think I added a bit more salt and pepper than called for. (I'm not sure because we use a grinder for both, but we tend to like our food a little more heavily seasoned than others.) I also put the batter in the freezer for about 15-20 minutes before using it. I dredged the fish in corn starch before dipping in batter after reading the reviews complaining that the batter didn't stick. Remember to keep your oil very hot and let it come back up to temperature between each batch. It was a big hit with the kids age 2-13 and the grown-ups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Holly, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Mmmm. VERY good! British food is not known for being heavily seasoned or complex. This is what this is - a lightly seasoned treatment for basic ingredients. If you are looking for something with "oomph" this is probably not for you. If you can appreciate simplicity, you'll definitely want to give this a try. One thing to note: This batter is VERY light & fluffy. The egg / baking powder are key and are EXACTLY what my hubs didn't like about this.... He prefers a crisper batter. On the contrary, I was quite pleased with how this turned out (they say opposites DO attract lol!). :) Having said this, you must do a few things to ensure a successful, consistent outcome. First and foremost, BE SURE to cut your cod filets in half (smaller pieces fry more evenly). Last but not least, make SURE your batter, fish and potatoes are VERY cold (I put my fish / batter in the freezer for about 10 minutes and kept my potatoes refrigerated until ready to fry). Stick to these tips (along with a good dose of common sense) and you can't go wrong. Served with mushy peas, homemade tartar sauce (for me) and malt vinegar (hubby), this was a fun meal. Thanks for sharing, Dan! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I don't recommend using gluten free flour for this recipe. The flavor was good, but the batter fell right off the fish during the cooking. I've used GF flour for frying in my DF fryer before and never had this problem so I'm not sure what happened, but the flavor was good non-the-less (I did use garlic salt in stead of regular salt and about 1/2 teaspoon onion powder in the batter)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This was the best recipe i have ever found. I have some really picky people in my family and this was a huge hit....Thank you so much for sharing and special thanks to all the tips about keeping everything chilled. Also followed the tip for 1/2 beer and 1/2 milk.... Over all the best one yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Very good recipe and simple to make. 1 pound of fillets should do it if your serving 4. The thinner the fillet the better because it adds to that crunch we expect from fish and chips. Also, I refrigerated the batter for an hour before using it and I think it helped to thicken it up a bit. Don't forget lemon wedges and Malt Vinegar!! - Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Add lemon-pepper to the batter for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bar Harbor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Everyone really enjoyed this. It is very tasty fresh out of the pan but looses its crunch fairly quickly. All in all, very good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
We thought this was delicious, and will definitely make this again. After reading other reviews, I decided to up the spices a bit - I added a few shakes of garlic powder, onion powder, seasoning salt, and a shake of paprika. I used pollack. Make sure the fish is thawed. Also, I squeezed the fish a bit to get some of the liquid out, (this was key to getting the batter to stick) then dusted it with flour, and THEN put it in the batter. It worked PERFECTLY! They were just like you would have from a restaurant. There was extra batter left over, so I battered & fried some halved mushrooms (YUMMY!) and some mozzarella cheese sticks (chopped in 5 pieces) (MMMM). Next time I will also try zucchini sticks or onion rings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This fish is awesome fresh! I recommend eating all of it right away as it gets very soggy if refridgerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Not very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States