Classic Fish and Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
You will need to keep the oil hotter than 350 to get a crisp coating rather than a soggy one. That goes for both the fish and the chips. I used 370 and all was well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
First attempt at deep frying...anything...only had a meat thermometer but still managed to approximate the right temperature because it came out great! We made with mashed potatoes but the fish was so good we just squirted a little lemon juice on it. The picky eater 5 year old had two pieces. Will certainly do again and may try with a little Old Bay as another reviewer did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This is so simple! The batter is fluffy & crispy. A home run in that department. Needs a little more taste though.... I will double the salt and do another 1/2 teaspoon of pepper next time. The smaller pieces of fish were better than the larger ones... so I'd suggest cutting your cod to 4" long tops. This recipe has the wow factor with very little effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
nice recipe they thought that i bought it but i said i saw it as a recipe, thanks dan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy Manrique

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
it wasn't crispy the way I like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monjfr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Turned out very gummy, just like a lot others have said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
The batter was a little thick, so while the outside was golden, the inside of the batter was a little soggy. I followed other reviews and subbed in 1/2 c. of beer, and stuck the batter in the freezer for 20 minutes. On a whim, we baked half the fries and fried the other half. Husband couldn't tell the difference, so I'll always bake in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I use crisco oil to fry on medium heat. I added garlic powder and cayenne pepper to taste. This is the BEST RECIPE EVER!!!! I heart classic Fish and Chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I used swai (basa) fillets with this recipe and it turned out great. I chilled the batter an hour before using, as suggested by a reviewer, and sure enough, the batter thickened nicely. Keeping the temp steady was easy with an electric skillet. Will definitely use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail A. Guild

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States