Classic Fish and Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This is so simple! The batter is fluffy & crispy. A home run in that department. Needs a little more taste though.... I will double the salt and do another 1/2 teaspoon of pepper next time. The smaller pieces of fish were better than the larger ones... so I'd suggest cutting your cod to 4" long tops. This recipe has the wow factor with very little effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
nice recipe they thought that i bought it but i said i saw it as a recipe, thanks dan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy Manrique

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
it wasn't crispy the way I like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monjfr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Turned out very gummy, just like a lot others have said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
The batter was a little thick, so while the outside was golden, the inside of the batter was a little soggy. I followed other reviews and subbed in 1/2 c. of beer, and stuck the batter in the freezer for 20 minutes. On a whim, we baked half the fries and fried the other half. Husband couldn't tell the difference, so I'll always bake in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I use crisco oil to fry on medium heat. I added garlic powder and cayenne pepper to taste. This is the BEST RECIPE EVER!!!! I heart classic Fish and Chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I used swai (basa) fillets with this recipe and it turned out great. I chilled the batter an hour before using, as suggested by a reviewer, and sure enough, the batter thickened nicely. Keeping the temp steady was easy with an electric skillet. Will definitely use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail A. Guild

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This recipe worked perfectly for me. I think the key with the soggy batter is keeping the temperature at the right level. Mine were perfectly crisp and yummy and stayed that way long after coming out of the oil. We also had leftovers which I reheated int he oven the following day and those crisped right back up as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INUKSHUK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
terribly bland and way too thin, I won't use this recipe again. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexMex Queen

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
This is a very good basic recipe for fish n chips style batter. Some of my children cannot have dairy, so we used 1/2 plain rice milk and 1/2 beer for the liquid in the batter. We had the oven on at 200 degrees (as suggested by others) and used paper towel-lined baking sheets in order to drain the excess grease and keep the fish warm. The first fish was crispy even after frying several batches before we ate it. We cut the raw cod into smaller pieces so they be about the size you'd have them served at a pub. We also fried shrimp (we used basic frozen pre-cooked cocktail shrimp, thawed under cool water) and onion rings. A double batch of the batter was enough to do enough cod, shrimp and onions for my hungry family of eight people, with some left over. I also think I added a bit more salt and pepper than called for. (I'm not sure because we use a grinder for both, but we tend to like our food a little more heavily seasoned than others.) I also put the batter in the freezer for about 15-20 minutes before using it. I dredged the fish in corn starch before dipping in batter after reading the reviews complaining that the batter didn't stick. Remember to keep your oil very hot and let it come back up to temperature between each batch. It was a big hit with the kids age 2-13 and the grown-ups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Holly, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States