Classic Fish and Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Some may like this the way it is cooked but trade in for the Butter,Salt,Milk,egg and veg oil. for just flour and a tin or bottle of beer any kind will do {BEER and FLOUR to make a terrific authentic British Fish Batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
what do i do when I'm finished cooking? where do i put a quart of cooking oil?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
'Didn't deepfry (so it stuck to the pan somewhat), but still could tell this is a good recipe. Found it needed a little more salt. Light, crispy, no doughy part next to the fish. 'Keepin' this one. 8/12 Be sure to use thicker fish, not catfish. It's a batter not a coating. With catfish, it tasted fine; but the batter was 1/8+" & there was more of it than fish. 'Still didn't do the potatoes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I learned a long time ago if you use a onion ring batter along with your fish batter the fish come out a lot crispier try it you may have to adjust the amount but try 50% for a start
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Long ago I learned from a New Zealand woman to never ever use eggs and milk in a coating batter. Instead, I use cold water and a tablespoon vinegar. This makes fried batter much crispier than any other method, and has earned me compliments over the years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
You will need to keep the oil hotter than 350 to get a crisp coating rather than a soggy one. That goes for both the fish and the chips. I used 370 and all was well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
First attempt at deep frying...anything...only had a meat thermometer but still managed to approximate the right temperature because it came out great! We made with mashed potatoes but the fish was so good we just squirted a little lemon juice on it. The picky eater 5 year old had two pieces. Will certainly do again and may try with a little Old Bay as another reviewer did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This is so simple! The batter is fluffy & crispy. A home run in that department. Needs a little more taste though.... I will double the salt and do another 1/2 teaspoon of pepper next time. The smaller pieces of fish were better than the larger ones... so I'd suggest cutting your cod to 4" long tops. This recipe has the wow factor with very little effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
nice recipe they thought that i bought it but i said i saw it as a recipe, thanks dan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy Manrique

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States