Classic Fish and Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I am not going to say this is bad, it isn't but even with the added spices reviewers suggested, the batter was just eh... I just need more flavor...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maili

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Turned out pretty well. Im abit of a novice cook and dont have much experience with fried foods.I had a bit of trouble with the batter sticking to the pan and peeling off of the fish but after the first couple pieces I got the hang of it. The chips were tasty. A good method for cooking them in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Folsom, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I READ THE FIRST REVIEW AND USED BEER INSTEAD OF MILK--HIS POINTERS ARE PERFECT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frazwine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I had haddock fish when I was in London for my fish and chips.They use haddock more than any other fish.Cod is good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julia
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
This was awesome,followed the directions and only altered on ingredient I subed club soda for milk b/c I didn't have milk. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I tried this recipe. The potatoes were great. I would use COLD club soda instead of mlk. It makes the batter lighter. (or you could use beer) Otherwise, nice recipe. The fish batter was just a little mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Unlike some of the other reviews I found this very good. I think some need to read the recipes a little more closely. One reviewer said that a quarter of a cup of oil was not enough for frying the fish. Well the recipe sad use a quart of oil not a quarter cup of oil. Anyway, this is a good recipe. Thank you for shareing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salina, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Went on great with family. For me the batter was a bit bland. Would increase the salt and pepper a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Some may like this the way it is cooked but trade in for the Butter,Salt,Milk,egg and veg oil. for just flour and a tin or bottle of beer any kind will do {BEER and FLOUR to make a terrific authentic British Fish Batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
what do i do when I'm finished cooking? where do i put a quart of cooking oil?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States