Classic Fish and Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
to all you people out there. 99 percent of the time, if you are getting soggy fish, it is because your oil isn't hot enough, or broken down oil. i have cooked 1000's of fish in my like. and that is the only time the fish is soggy for me. i would have ranked it higher, but i am a panfish and walleye guy. not cod or whitefish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I have made this several times and it is awesome. The batter bubbles up really crispy and my family loves this when I make it. Oil must be hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Very bland taste as directed, On -n- On, Come on, use your imagination and spice up your cooking folks. You know what you like or how it should taste. Mexican seasoning "Tajin" (lightly spiced Lime seasoning sprinkled on the fish itself) works excellent. The best help would be to keep the batter in a bowl...now follow this...in a bowl with ICE CUBES in it, as well as chill your meat ect., before hand. And keeping your cooked food in a pre-heated and then turned off oven with the door very slightly cracked to allow the steam that makes batter soft to escape. Spice it UP....... Lubie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lubie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This is almost the exact recipe I use for batter. The results are great - cooked on the outside, nice and chewy on the inside as it should be. The method for the chips is good - twice cooked is the way, although user perfectfamily seems to have the method perfected and I would definitely cut them a little thicker than the ones pictured (the example in the picture looks utterly mouthwatering by the way). For anyone who is concerned that the batter is too bland, it can be spiced with any number of aromatic spices (a good curry powder (Madras would work well), dried English mustard powder, ground wattleseed (yummy and nutty if you can get it), nutmeg (I dare you - just try it), and many many more) or herbs. The easiest to avoid flavour clumping is to mix them through the dry ingredients before adding the liquids. For a proper taste and a totally authentic chip shop taste, I wrap the fish & chips in some greaseproof paper, wrap the whole package in some old newspaper, leave for 10 minutes or so to become suitably soggy and unwrap and serve with some salt & malt vinegar, some nice pickled onions and mushy peas (or the condiment/s of your choice).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I know it was just a regular batter well I added a beer and OMG it was super great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Really good. Made as is. Was very similar to tempura batter I thought. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Good, but I don't know if I'll ever make it again. I can't handle the amount of oil we're consuming or the amount of oil vapor hanging in the air in the house. The whole place smells like oil for days after making this! However, for an occasional treat, and if you have an enclosed deep fryer to minimize the oil vapor, it's a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Tucker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I am not going to say this is bad, it isn't but even with the added spices reviewers suggested, the batter was just eh... I just need more flavor...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maili

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Morgan City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Turned out pretty well. Im abit of a novice cook and dont have much experience with fried foods.I had a bit of trouble with the batter sticking to the pan and peeling off of the fish but after the first couple pieces I got the hang of it. The chips were tasty. A good method for cooking them in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Folsom, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I READ THE FIRST REVIEW AND USED BEER INSTEAD OF MILK--HIS POINTERS ARE PERFECT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frazwine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States