Classic Fish and Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Really good. Made as is. Was very similar to tempura batter I thought. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Good, but I don't know if I'll ever make it again. I can't handle the amount of oil we're consuming or the amount of oil vapor hanging in the air in the house. The whole place smells like oil for days after making this! However, for an occasional treat, and if you have an enclosed deep fryer to minimize the oil vapor, it's a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Tucker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I am not going to say this is bad, it isn't but even with the added spices reviewers suggested, the batter was just eh... I just need more flavor...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maili

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Turned out pretty well. Im abit of a novice cook and dont have much experience with fried foods.I had a bit of trouble with the batter sticking to the pan and peeling off of the fish but after the first couple pieces I got the hang of it. The chips were tasty. A good method for cooking them in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Folsom, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I READ THE FIRST REVIEW AND USED BEER INSTEAD OF MILK--HIS POINTERS ARE PERFECT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frazwine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I had haddock fish when I was in London for my fish and chips.They use haddock more than any other fish.Cod is good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julia
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
This was awesome,followed the directions and only altered on ingredient I subed club soda for milk b/c I didn't have milk. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I tried this recipe. The potatoes were great. I would use COLD club soda instead of mlk. It makes the batter lighter. (or you could use beer) Otherwise, nice recipe. The fish batter was just a little mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Unlike some of the other reviews I found this very good. I think some need to read the recipes a little more closely. One reviewer said that a quarter of a cup of oil was not enough for frying the fish. Well the recipe sad use a quart of oil not a quarter cup of oil. Anyway, this is a good recipe. Thank you for shareing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salina, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Went on great with family. For me the batter was a bit bland. Would increase the salt and pepper a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States