Classic Fish and Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
Very good recipe. I did sub beer for the milk, and followed others' advice about chilling the batter and keeping the cooked fish in a 200 oven while frying the rest. It came out very crispy. The fish was a bit bland, so I will increase the s&p next time. And there WILL be many next times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
It was perfect. Best batter I have ever used and it's saved on here and in my paper cookbook! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellmawr, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glendora, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
This was a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
This batter gives a thick, crunchy coating. I used sunflower oil and kept the temperature at 340-360 degrees. The fish I bought were rather thin, so next time I'll use thicker filets to balance this awesome batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
This came out perfect. Light and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
batter did not stay on the fish and separated in the oil. wont be using this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Makaio Sansom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Easy to put together an the fish was a big hit. I used tilapia fillets Crispy good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I made this recipe tonight. The fries were very good and as I always make them but the fish was not. This fish batter recipe brings to mind Yorkshire puddings. The fish was soggy and greasy. My husband ate it, although he said it was not very good, but I could not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendylj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This turned out great! I followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect. It was crispy and delicious. I think the key is to make sure your fish is not too wet. I dried the fish thoroughly and it came out just the way we like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Was wonderful after a bit of tweaking. As another review said.. Too salty.I used 1C. flour 1/2 C. cornstarch and a 12 oz. bottle of beer mixed ahead of time.3 hours was fine. No seasoning in batter but did season the flour with Tony Chacheres that I pre dusted the fish with. This batter came out crispy and light and STAYED crispy and light after 20 minutes in the oven while the rest of the fish was fried. It even stayed crisp all through dinner. Not soggy a bit. It took me years to finally get the batter right and I guarantee the cornstarch flour and beer are IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States